We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very pleasant tour”

Houston Urban Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 35.00*
and up
Old Town Houston Historic Pub Tour
Ranked #5 of 35 Tours in Houston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Houston Urban Adventures offers two walking tours led by expert local guides. Join us and find out why Texas means friendly. The Heart of the Tunnel Walk, available Wednesday-Friday, introduces you to the Downtown Houston Tunnel System, Chase Tower's 60th-floor sky lobby, the 1929 Chase Building, and Pennzoil Place. The Historic Downtown Pub Crawl, available Wednesday-Saturday, listen to your local guide spin tales of murder, gambling, brothels, and ghosts as you visit four unique neighborhood bars in the old Town of Houston.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“a very pleasant tour”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The "Heart of the Tunnel Walk" was very nice and extremely interesting. I learned a lot about Houston downtown and our guide was amazing.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank loli2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    14
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun way to explore!”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I'd heard about the downtown tunnels and had always wanted to check them out, so when the Groupon arrived in my inbox, I jumped at the opportunity. Sandra knew so much about everything we saw. It was a great time. Looking forward to trying the pub crawl next time!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sgmcpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston area
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun and informative night out!”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My BFF and I did the Historic Downtown Pub Crawl on Saturday night, and it was a really fun and different Girls Night Out. Our guide was really informative... I've lived in the Houston area for most of my life, and didn't know any of the cool background of our downtown area, so it was really great to hear the stories she told.

Also the bars and pubs we went in were really unique. What fun! Yummy drinks at Char Bar, great atmosphere and football at Shay McElroy's, and cool decor at Notsuoh.

All the other people were very nice too, we made some great friends for the night.

Highly recommend doing this tour, whether you're a tourist, or a native Houstonian!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ethansmom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not up to par with other walking tours we have done.”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The tour started off fine, (excellent info about the tall building of Houston downtown) but we were disappointed in it because we got literally no historical information about Houston. The tour is 3 hours. 45 minutes is planned for lunch in a tunnel food court. 40 minutes is planned at the visitor's center, watching the free movie about Houston. The tour would be better as a 2 hour tour without a food court lunch and a visit to the visitor's center. (Which we had already been to.)

We would have liked more stories about the start of Houston, and especially stories about the early leaders. Being handed a brochure about 12 founding fathers is not what we had hoped for.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tunnel tour was informative and fun!"”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We have lived in Houston for 8 years and discovered many new facts about this fascinating city underground via the tunnel system and skywalks thanks to Sharon. She was our guide and was full of information. We met at the historic Lancaster Hotel, toured the tunnel system, checked out the skyline from the Chase 60th floor observatory, ate in the foodcourt in the tunnel, checked out City Hall and ended at the new Sundance Theatre. It was a very informative and enjoyable afternoon. I would recommend the tunnel tour to everyone who wants to learn more about downtown Houston.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank klmtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Houston Urban Adventures also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Houston Urban Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing