We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay, clean, but not so good neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston East at Normandy
Ranked #199 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good stay, clean, but not so good neighborhood”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The La Quinta in Houston, Texas on Normandy, St is a very nice LQ Inns and Suites, however, the neighborhood is not so nice.

Sirens all night, lots of shady/shabby looking houses, building, people in the area. It is on I-10 on the east side of Houston...not the greatest part of town. However, it was very close where I needed to go and had good ratings as a nice, clean property...which it is.

The check in was quick, friendly. The room was clean, smelled good and the beds were warm, soft and I slept ok, considering the sirens and such.

The property does have a security fence around it, however it is not gated. They do employee a security guard and that does help.

The breakfast was ok, typical LQ with mega starch/carbs combo. I was in a hurry, so I did eat there.

Park your vehicle in front in the lighted area. Don't venture off the property after dark.

All went well during the stay, I would stay again if needed on the east side of Houston.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side cause of the noise and an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NiklasPavelV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    31
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
11
12
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ingram, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Was in town to work on a Habitat project nearby. Decided to stay in a hotel rather than having to fight early morning traffic from the west side of Houston. Chose this La Quinta based on reviews and price. Nice, clean hotel, although the hotel had a strange smell in the halls. It may have been new carpet or something. We did have an initial problem with service at the front desk when we arrived and after waiting a while had to actually call the hotel to get a response. The clerk claimed to be having problems of some kind, but once we were checked in our stay was fine. Breakfast was very good and the attendants were pleasant and helpful. This La Quinta is nice and our stay was pleasant. If you need to stay on the east side of Houston near Interstate 10 and want a nice, comfortable room at a good price, then I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
203 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I planned a one-night visit to Houston, TX for business. My meeting was located only about a mile from this LaQuinta (there is another LaQuinta located only about a mile to the west), and I saw the great reviews on this site, so I decided to stay here. It was great.

The rooms were clean, comfortable, and business-friendly. The front-desk staff and other employees were overly friendly. The free breakfast in the morning was very good. An excellent bargain, and I would not hesitate to stay here in the future.

Final note: The hotel is located about 25 minutes from Hobby Airport and about 35-40 from Bush International.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Should you ever need to stay on the east side of Houston just off I-10 and 15 minutes from downtown (depending on the time of day), this is currently the best choice. La Quinta Normandy is very new. As a result, so are all the fixtures, carpet, TVs, luxurious King beds, bathrooms and so on. For a budget hotel, this place is positively luxurious.

The pool was clean, the breakfast decent for being included (eggs, bacon or sausage, along with fruit, cereal, bread, bagels etc) and the staff was friendly and helpful. I cannot think of anything that wasn't right with this place, right down to the microwave and bar fridge in every room. A great bargain!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Everything was clean & the staff was very helpfull & friendly. Free breakfast was good and always plenty of food. Would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skippy120753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
5.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Channelview
1.2 km away
Candlewood Suites I-10 East
Candlewood Suites I-10 East
#231 of 504 in Houston
37 reviews
3.6 km away
Hampton Inn Houston I-10 East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Comfort Inn East
Comfort Inn East
#257 of 504 in Houston
23 reviews
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston East
43.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston West Park 10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston East at Normandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston East at Normandy

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston East at Normandy
Address: 930 Normandy St, Houston, TX 77015-4920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Business Hotel in Houston
Price range (per night): $126 - $183
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston East at Normandy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston East at Normandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston East At Normandy Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing