We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst stay ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown
Ranked #392 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Labadieville
1 review
“Worst stay ever!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Me and my family decided to stay there for a weekend because we thought we got a really good deal off of priceline.com. Well let me just tell you I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a homeless person. The staff was very unfriendly and their so called cont. breakfast consist of stale cereal and old cofee. The room was very gloomy and the bed linens was probably from 1954. I wouldn't even give it 1 star! The office is very stinky it was swormed with Arab people and they had about 12 insense lit at once. Also everytime you walked out of your room the staff starres you down through the blinds; very scary people.Trust me stay at a Motel 6 or better!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lababe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojohoustontx, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Staff members received additional training in the courteous manner in which they are to treat you, our valued guests.

• Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    23
    34
    14
    18
See reviews for
34
13
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Me, my wife, my daughter and my grandson all decided that we needed a little weekend retreat so on the10th we booked in advance our stay here for the following week, the weekend of the 16th.

We arrive at the hotel at 4pm the 16th. We tell the front desk man, Rick I believe his name was. That we had reservations, he pulled it up on the computer and they had us booked at Feb. 16th, not January. So we tell them that we spoke to Joe, who claimed he had everything right and even went over our reservation for us. He then said "Sorry there is nothing we can do".

A manager came from the back and it turns out it was Joe, he told Rick that he screwed up on the information but we were staying this weekend. So we got our room key and made our way to the room. We opened the door and went in, I looked at the floor and there was gum on it, there was old cigarettes on the bed stand, a pack of new cigarettes sitting on the tank of the toilet and the beds had yellow stains on them, don't even want to know what it was.

The neighbor hood was horrible. The whole time we were there, we worried about our car because there were these shady looking young men walking around the hotel grounds. While we were there a car did get stolen. At night it wasn't any better, gunshots, yelling and some type of sound I can't even describe were always being heard at night.

  • Liked — The manager
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFisher82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojohoustontx, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston for your family’s weekend retreat.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Joe and Rick both received our commendation for the courteous way in which they treated you, our valued guests.

• Joe and Rick received my personal commendation for the courteous way in which they treated you, our valued guests.

• Management was approached about your concern regarding the young men walking around the hotel grounds and the fact that a car had been stolen and there were gunshots. Ways in which security systems could better be in place were discussed.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Houston hotels

San Antonio TX
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2008

The hotels easy access didn't make up for the bad neighborhood. There were shady people hanging out, I was unsure if they were employees or guests, but they made me nervous. There was no parking when we arrived around midnight and the room itself was awful. Dingy sheets and uncomfortable mattresses made it impossible for me to sleep. There were also dead roashes IN our room and several scattered throughout the grounds. Expected a whole lot more for the price we paid.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Lc9Lives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojohoustontx, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of you review, the following steps were taken:

• Management was approached about the presence of what you describe as shady people hanging out. Ways in which security systems could be set up to make our valued guests feel more secure were discussed.

• Maintenance was notified of your report of roaches and instructed to look into the matter and see to any necessary extermination.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2008

When I asked to have a beeping smoke alarm fixed, the "manager" told me he would see to it when he wasn't busy. Then he resumed reading his book! When he got around to coming to my room, he berated me for not taking care of the problem earlier in the day! "It's not houskeeping's job to take care of this, it's the customer's. You are the customer!" I did not want to talk with the "manager" after this experience, I was afraid of his temper. He was intimidating and belligerent. One of my friends called the office for information; he called her stupid and hung up on her. Amenities: 1) The "free internet" did not work, but I couldn't report it because the 2) office would not answer the phone.
3) Don't even think about asking for a wake up call. 4)When I checked out of the hotel at 7AM, there was no one in the office. I thought there was supposed to be "continental breakfast."

  • Liked — Easy access to meeting location.
  • Disliked — The nasty, belligerant, intimidating, rude, horrid man in the office. He seemed emotionally disturbed.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SO1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojohoustontx, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• The manager received additional training in the courteous manner in which he is to treat our valued guests and others as our employee.

• Maintenance was notified of the beeping smoke alarm in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to any needed repair or replacement.

• Manager was approached about what was happening with the continental breakfast.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 May 2006

We landed for the graduation this year and expected a good treatment. We were given a warm reception to a room where the shower water force was milder than the tap. We requested for a room change. Now we were in for another surprise - ROACHES!!! strewn over the floor. Secondly, the bathroom door wouldn't close at all - an oversize door! The response from the management is absolutely negative. We were given only three towels for a family of four!

Truly speaking, I should get my refund. I will never go to a Howard Johnson again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojohoustontx, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston for your recent stay in our area. Please extend our congratulations to the graduate, he/she can take great pride in their accomplishment.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Management was given additional training in the courteous manner in which they are to treat you, our valued guests.

• Maintenance was informed of the problem with the bathroom door in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to it’s repair or replacement.

• Maintenance was informed of your report of roaches and instructed to see to any needed extermination.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Scottish Inns Westcott Street
#341 of 506 in Houston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Sleep Inn & Suites
#131 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus Downtown Inn & Suites
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#110 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown
Address: 4602 Katy Freeway/I-10, Houston, TX 77007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Price range (per night): $148 - $175
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Medal Hotel for 5 straight years. For Budget Hotel in Houston, we are the best choice for both. We are consistently rated as a Top Luxury Hotel in Houston by our satisfied guests. We are the most appropriate TX Budget Hotel, to make your stay enjoyable at a low-cost. Some of our guests who have stayed with us in Houston, have informed us that they have made a good choice by selecting our Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Houston
Houston Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing