We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great get-a-way!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Grapevine
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a great get-a-way!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was our second visit to Great Wolf in Grapevine. Both trips were great! The hotel price may seem a bit high, but it really comes out to about the same as an average hotel (which this isn't!) and tickets to a water park. The park is great! And bigger than expected to be mostly inside. The "thrill" rides are excellent, as well as those offered for the less adventurous!
The rooms for the kids are so fun, they love their own little area and theme. My only complaint is that on this visit, we had noise in the halls, late and often. But not on our first trip, so maybe just bad luck of the floor. The resort was not crowded at all and very enjoyable otherwise.

Room Tip: The rooms for kids include bunkbeds, etc and are worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,371
    1,032
    719
    365
    256
See reviews for
3,365
22
5
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We just returned from a 2-night stay and we were very impressed. (As a comparison, we've stayed at the Gaylord Texan and found Great Wolf to be MUCH more kid-friendly!) We went as part of GWL's Homeschool Week promotion and got a great rate on a Kid Cabin room. The room was very spacious and my family of 5 (mom, dad and 3 kids age 7, 5 and 14 months) never felt cramped. The cabin feature had 2 kid size beds and one bunk and came complete with their own flat-screen TV and a small activity table. The main part of the room had a queen bed and a double pull-out couch (which we didn't use) - there was still plenty of room even with the Pack-n-Play the hotel provided for the baby. The room also featured a wet bar area with microwave that was super convenient for storing the kids' snacks and washing out the baby's bottles (it always feels odd to do this over a bathroom sink, so this was nice).
I was initially nervous that this would be a very noisy place, since it's designed for families with children. However, we NEVER heard anyone in the rooms surrounding ours. The most we heard were kids in the hallway sometimes and doors closing/slamming. We were pleasantly surprised at the insulation between rooms, which is great when traveling with little ones who need naps!

We always had plenty of towels, which is good because you will need to take them with you if you plan to visit the water park! While the water park has towels, you are not allowed to take them out of the park - so when you're finished, you can face a cold, air-conditioned walk back to your room.

We were there during an off-peak time, so it was not really crowded and we had plenty of space in the water parks, restaurants and playing different games with the kids (MagiQuest, arcade, story time, etc.). However, I can see this place getting nutty if crowded, so plan accordingly. Even during our off-peak stay, there were a few times when various MagiQuest areas became very congested.

We purchased Paw Passes for the older kids, which saved money on all the major things kids will want to do. The pass covers a Build-a-Bear type deal, a photo of the kids (either coming down the water slide or, as we did, a photo in front of the Great Wolf Grizzly), a free scoop of ice cream, 20 arcade tokens, a color-your-own T-shirt, and a MagiQuest game + wand. It was worth it for us this time, as the pass gives you about 40% off; however, for subsequent visits it's not likely needed. (Unless you plan to get new wands and build a new stuffed animal/ color a new t-shirt each time you visit.)

My two oldest children have Celiac disease and require a gluten-free diet. The 4th floor restaurant/bar and the main floor (Loose Moose) restaurant offered plenty of options for them. Loose Moose was only open for breakfast; however, the chef was very accommodating and made us some delicious GF pancakes. At the 4th floor restaurant (only open for dinner), they offered GF chicken nuggets, mac & cheese, hot dogs & hamburgers with GF buns and GF grilled cheese sandwiches. The only complaint we had was that there were NO options for GF lunches. The main restaurants were closed and the poolside cafe/Pizza Hut/Bear Paws Sweet Treats had nothing (save for side salads and ice cream) for us. If you have a food allergy like this, plan to leave the hotel or bring your own food for lunch.

The staff was always very kind, the atmosphere is super kid-friendly and this is a great place with lots of options for families. Little ones can do the Wolf Walk, Bedtime Story and the child's swim area at the water park. Older kids will enjoy the larger water slides and MagiQuest gaming. Parents will appreciate spacious rooms, Starbucks (!), spacious rooms and excellent food (try the burgers and the poblano roast beef sandwich on the 4th floor!)

We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: Kid Cabin rooms have the most beds (2 regular + 1 bunk, in addition to the queen bed and pull out co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infamousmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
319 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

If you are even thinking about staying at Great Wolf, you surely already know what it is about. Just in case, though, it is a large indoor/outdoor water park, with a hotel attached. If your kids love water parks, then it might just be perfect for you. As you might expect, it is full of families with kids of all ages, very noisy and busy and the food/accomodations are not oriented toward discerning adults. On the other hand, if you want great food, plush accomodations and adult-oriented amenities, then you're probably not interested in Great Wolf in the first place. While the rooms are not luxurious (I would say, comparable to a Holiday Inn) and might seem overpriced for what you get, you have to remember that water park passes for each person are included in your room rate. The breakfast buffet in the large "Loose Moose" dining area is generous, has lots of options, and is actually not bad for the price ($14 for adults and $7 for kids, I think). For lunch and dinner, pizza, burgers and the like are pretty much the order of the day, but there is a somewhat nicer restaurant and bar on the 4th floor that offers a few more options. There is also a bar just off the outdoor pool area. The outdoor areas are closed during the off-season.

The water park has pools, slides, waterfalls, showers, etc, for kids ranging from toddlers to teens. Of course the older teens will probably say it's lame, at least when their parents ask, just because there are so many little kids around, but I'll bet that most of them will have fun anyway - they can just stick to the rides that are more oriented toward them - and a couple of them are pretty exciting - and yes, adults can ride too. For the smallest kids, there are pools that are no deeper than 6 inches or so. Of course, the rooms and food are only two of the many ways that Great Wolf works hard to separate you from your money, so come prepared to say "no" to your kids a lot, if you don't want to spend a lot of extra cash in the gift shop and other areas. They have all sorts of things there that will set the kids begging, including the magic wands that can be used to go treasure hunting all over the entire facility. On the other hand, the treasure hunt feature gives the kids something fun to do when they are tired of the water.

In sum, it's not for everyone, but our kids and grandkids had a lot of fun, so we enjoyed our stay. A couple of days is probably long enough to thoroughly enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WynneWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Check in time is 4 pm. We arrived at 12 , tried to check in. Lucky us. They have room available for us. No extra charged for check in early. Super cool. Bedtime story is nice for the kids. Services n staff are good. The room have a lot of towels ,don't need to ask fo more. Big room. Comfort bed. Flat screen tv in my room with cable (luxery king room) . Free wifi. The food are little expensive . But its normal. Will be back when we in Dallas.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank congchihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This was my third trip and second birthday party for my 11 yo daughter. The first time we had a themed room with bunk beds ( which resulted in a meltdown for the child that got the bottom bunk). This time, we got a plain room with 2 queens and a pullout couch bedd. I let the kids sleep on the Queens and I slept on the pullout. The pullout couch was as comfortable as you would expect. The queens were great. I hate the children running and screaming. I saw several elderly adults who could have lost their balance with this. I don't allow my kids to run and am amazed by the adults who didn't correct their children. My daughter lost her magic wand and topper that evening and the wonderful staff at Magiquest replaced it exactly with older lost wand parts. This saved my daughters birthday from becoming a bad ( and very expensive) experience. I was very impressed at all times with the Magiquest staff. You can tell the staff are nerds ( role playing gamers, anime fest enthusiasts, and renaissance faire reenactors). This makes them the perfect staff for such an activity.

Room Tip: Themed rooms are cool, but especially with older kids, you won't be in the room that much. A reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grapevine hotels
2.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dallas DFW Airport North
2.3 km away
Hilton DFW Lakes Executive Conference Center
2.9 km away
Super 8 Grapevine/DFW Airport Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Grapevine
2.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 17 in Grapevine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Dallas - DFW Airport North / Grapevine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine

Property: Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine
Address: 100 Great Wolf Drive, Grapevine, TX 76051
Region: United States > Texas > Grapevine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Grapevine
Price range (per night): $321 - $780
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Grapevine
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Grapevine Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing