We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand on the Strand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Tremont which was the host hotel for our conference. Meetings were held in an annex conveniently across the street. The Tremont is within walking distance of excellent restaurants and the coastal waterway so our rental car never left the garage. Lots of shopping available on the historic Strand. Not close to the beach but we loved the hotel's high ceiled rooms with a crisp navy and white nautical theme and iron four posters. We would definitely choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor street side are quieter- we requested one and were accomodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KakiTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Glad you enjoyed the hotel and the local area. The Tremont House is a great base to explore the Strand shops, restaurants, and attractions - all within a few blocks of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,033 - 2,037 of 2,277 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed for 8 nights in March. Great hotel with friendly and helpful staff with nothing ever an issue (even when I had a minor issue with my credit card in day 1!) Nice cafe style restaurant and bar area. The rooftop bar had a great ambience to it. The general area is good for shops attractions and restaurant particularly in the Pier 21 area which is only a short walk.

Room Tip: We paid a bit extra for a suite and managed to get a corner room on 4th floor which was extremely sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Excellent visit, friendly staff and comfy beds.
I was pleasantly surprised by the cool room keys, high room ceilings, flat screen tv ,free wifi, towel heaters, auto dimming lighting system, bright lightted bathroom mirror, the nice little room "treat" left in the room, USA paper by the door and fast checkout.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank ccampagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Tremont is a beautiful hotel within walking distance of shopping and dining. It is easy to find. The staff was great. The hotel was exceptionally clean but the rooms are a bit small. They are very nice to accomodate your needs. We were able to check out and leave our luggage all day while we went on a fishing trip. The have nice bathrooms in the lobby with plenty of space to freshen up after a day out on the water. It was so easy to walk to everything from here. I would definitely stay here again if in Gaveston. We had a great rate but it was the off season. They do not have a pool which is one thing we would have really liked but you have use of one at another facility.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Figi1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had a great weekend, everyone at the Tremont were very professional and friendly. We will go back again.

Room Tip: This location is one street from the Strand, lots of shopping, food and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RG155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.4 km away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.7 km away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.7 km away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $149 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing