We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand on the Strand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Grand on the Strand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Tremont which was the host hotel for our conference. Meetings were held in an annex conveniently across the street. The Tremont is within walking distance of excellent restaurants and the coastal waterway so our rental car never left the garage. Lots of shopping available on the historic Strand. Not close to the beach but we loved the hotel's high ceiled rooms with a crisp navy and white nautical theme and iron four posters. We would definitely choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor street side are quieter- we requested one and were accomodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KakiTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Glad you enjoyed the hotel and the local area. The Tremont House is a great base to explore the Strand shops, restaurants, and attractions - all within a few blocks of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    480
    164
    61
    47
See reviews for
438
958
67
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed for 8 nights in March. Great hotel with friendly and helpful staff with nothing ever an issue (even when I had a minor issue with my credit card in day 1!) Nice cafe style restaurant and bar area. The rooftop bar had a great ambience to it. The general area is good for shops attractions and restaurant particularly in the Pier 21 area which is only a short walk.

Room Tip: We paid a bit extra for a suite and managed to get a corner room on 4th floor which was extremely sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012 via mobile

Excellent visit, friendly staff and comfy beds.
I was pleasantly surprised by the cool room keys, high room ceilings, flat screen tv ,free wifi, towel heaters, auto dimming lighting system, bright lightted bathroom mirror, the nice little room "treat" left in the room, USA paper by the door and fast checkout.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ccampagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, AR
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Tremont is a beautiful hotel within walking distance of shopping and dining. It is easy to find. The staff was great. The hotel was exceptionally clean but the rooms are a bit small. They are very nice to accomodate your needs. We were able to check out and leave our luggage all day while we went on a fishing trip. The have nice bathrooms in the lobby with plenty of space to freshen up after a day out on the water. It was so easy to walk to everything from here. I would definitely stay here again if in Gaveston. We had a great rate but it was the off season. They do not have a pool which is one thing we would have really liked but you have use of one at another facility.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Figi1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We had a great weekend, everyone at the Tremont were very professional and friendly. We will go back again.

Room Tip: This location is one street from the Strand, lots of shopping, food and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.4 km away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
5.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.7 km away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price range (per night): $171 - $571
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing