We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to The Driftwood
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Driftwood
The private neighborhood beach is just a few blocks away!! The Tiki Bar.  Enjoy ping-pong, washer pits, grilling, or just relaxing watching tv
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Welcome to The Driftwood
The private neighborhood beach is just a few blocks away!!
The Tiki Bar.  Enjoy ping-pong, washer pits, grilling, or just relaxing watching tv
Sitting area on the main deck
Sunset from the deck
View of den area
Living, dining and kitchen are open
Kitchen has everything you need and a Keurig
Kids room has twin beds, TV and X-box!
Two twin beds, TV and an X-box all located in Kids' Room
Second bedroom has a queen bed and TV
Bathroom on main floor
Master Bedroom
Enjoy the sun setting over the water from the king bed
Have a glass of wine on the master balcony and enjoy the views or read a book.
Sunset from the master balcony
Glimpse of the bay from the master balcony
Master Bathroom
Master Bathroom with walk in closet
Aonther view of the communities' private beach
850' fishing pier with lights for night fishing or crabbing only blocks away!
Bay view from the pier
Pool is just across just the street! Open Labor Day to Memorial Day ($100 fee covers 8 guest for wk)
Only ONE block away is the West End Marina which includes....
the 4* restaurant, the Sand Bar, a general store, and fresh fish market.
Inside the sandbar
The Driftwood is a few feet from the playground/park
The park has basketball and sand volleyball courts
Just a few more pictures and views....
Washer pit
View from the main deck
Map of the amenities around The Driftwood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galveston, Galveston Island, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cfalte1
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Relaxing Retreat”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I came in early February for Galveston Mardi Gras and this location easily came through with all amenities for a convenient, fun, and headache-free weekend in which kids were also a factor..

It is a short golf cart ride or walk to the beach. A golf cart is provided on site along with darts, a ping-pong table, and outside Tiki Bar.

Furniture, bedding,and most other amenities were all new.

Each bedroom has a flat-screen cable TV. There are nearby sand volleyball courts and playgrounds for kids. The surrounding streets are also very jogger friendly.

If you can handle the short 15 minute drive to the majority of attractions in Old Galveston, you cannot go wrong staying at the Driftwood.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2016
Thanks for staying, I'm glad you enjoyed it. I think he intended to say the golf cart is delivered to the site. We recommend renting a golf cart because it is a blast to cruise around the neighborhood.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles B
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Very pleasent, relaxing, and will return”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Was thinking all along of giving 4*s but when we started talking about our stay we could not justify not giving it an excellent rating. Many positive things to say. We felt at home from the moment we pulled up. The downstairs is great for cooking out. The bar set-up, ping pong table (well lets be honest, it turned into beer pong table later), grill and sitting areas made this quite enjoyable. The "living spaces" and deck/balcony were more spacious than I expected. The Wi-Fi was a bonus but tried to stay off devices and just relax. One thing that I did notice is a few updates in the kitchen area would be nice but it did not hinder anything that we wanted to do.

The community was friendly and everything was so close in proximity was great and comforting for the parents of the couple of kids. *** Tip - rented a golf cart later on 2nd day and will do so again when we come back either in the summer or this time next year (the weather was very cooperative). Obviously could not utilize the pool but the play ground and pier were a hit. The store in the marina was surprisingly competitive in their prices. We did eat at the sports bar one night. It was pretty good. The service was slow but not lazy and a little pricey but we did decide to vacation on an "island". Wanted to try it out but will definitely just stay at the house and grill next time because the house had all that we needed.

I did contact the owners after our stay to thank them for opening their home to us and offered a few suggestions. They were very receptive and we look forward to staying here at least one, maybe two times a year and we have already recommended it to quite a few friends!

Cheers

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2016
Thank you for staying and the kind words!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJ B
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
“Great location; great people”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Stayed there for a weekend in January. The owners were great people, the location of the house is perfect for beach going or if you fish on the Bay. We walked to the bar down the road, the people in there were as friendly as anyone you would meet, the burger was fantastic and the beers were cold. I highly recommend renting here if you are looking for a weekend away.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
We appreciate your kind words, thank you for staying at The Driftwood!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing