We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for parking, lousy shuttle service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Galveston
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great for parking, lousy shuttle service”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We booked this hotel (group of 4) because it offered parking during our cruise and shuttle service to and from the ship. Getting to the ship was fine but when we disembarked, after a huge delay because of fog, we were told we'd have to wait over an hour (in the rain) for the shuttle. We informed the desk clerk we'd take a taxi and expected half our shuttle fare back, which we did receive. BTW, if you're a group of two or more couples, it's far cheaper to share a taxi than use the shuttle. We'd stay here again but not use the shuttle.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kanesmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    66
    38
    18
    14
See reviews for
105
69
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed here on 12/18, the night before our Carnival cruise. The place seems fairly new, but our room already had a couple stains on the carpet. The staff was friendly and helpful (Harsh as well. I mention this since an earlier reviewer complained about him). The tv was the old tube style and didn't have that many channels. I watched tv on the big flat screen tv that night in the breakfast area since our kids were watching in the room. The halls and main areas were noticeably cold. It seemed like they didn't have the heat on. Breakfast was average with what seemed to be powered eggs.

My main complaint is that the hotel key machine was broken. This meant that we didn't have a room key. Therefore, every time we wanted to go into our room, we had to have the front desk person, Harsh, let us in.

Harsh said that there were only a total of four front desk employees, and no one else was available to work that night to help let everyone into their rooms. He said the machine wouldn't be fixed until Wednesday (3 days later). He did say that once the card machine was fixed, they were going to make spare keys for all the rooms as a backup if it happens again. He also said that he wasn't authorized by the manager to give a discount for the guests' inconvenience.

To me, this shows a lack of caring on the manager's and owner's part. If they cared about us, they would have given us some type of compensation. I don't know if we'll stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed two days prior to our cruise departed. This is a very new hotel but is out aways. Close to Moody Gardens. Very clean and the staff was wonderful. Hallways did have some smell, maybe from flooding from a prior hurricane. Breakfast was greta and so was the pool. You can park there free during your cruise. I would suggest taking a cab instead of their van service. Getting there was greatbut coming back they never showed up. We called the hotel six times and they did not answer the phones. Some people waited 3-4 hours and they never showed up, so do take a cab Very close to the ocean. Trolley picks up out front. Nice restaurant and gift shop with 200 feet. Other than that not much in the area, but a movie theater. I would stay in again. Better than downtown hotels in newness and clean.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor to avoid noise from the lobby an dpool. There is only 54 rooms at thi shotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We chose the “stay one night and leave your car here while on a cruise ship” package (October 29). The room was great, the morning food okay but the transfer service to and from the cruise ship terminal was over-the-top! The driver was intelligent, punctual and funny.

The room was clean, tastefully decorated and close to the beach. The only negative point about my visit at this hotel was the employee named “Harsh”. What a jerk! He told me the room was not ready and to come back in an hour.

Due to his lack of customer service skills, I approached a different clerk who confirmed my room was not ready and upgraded me to a beach view with a balcony and no waiting time! Of course Harsh tried to interfere with this transaction but the other clerk stood his ground. I also observed Harsh having a “word” with one of the employees the next morning in the breakfast area. Other than the annoying employee I recommend this place next time you are in Galveston.

Oh, about the parking? It’s an open and unsecured lot, $20.00 for the week and I did not have any problems. If you want to park closer to the cruise terminal, I was told the pink colored garage across the street from the terminal is $60.00. That might be worth the money since the terminal is a “zoo” when the ships let out.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glb310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Checked in for one night, on our trip along the gulf coast. Got a reasonable rate. The room was clean and well appointed with balcony and good quality fixings, eg faux granite surfaces and the beds were comfortable.
What really let the stay down was the slight odor in the communal areas coupled with extremely poor service from a front desk staff member. Also we could not access the fitness center during our stay, and the pool access was not secure.
Going back to the poor service, on checking in, the staff member assisted another guest whilst dealing with me with not so much as asking me or an apology. What I took real issue to was that I was told my bank card had declined in front of this guest. I produced another card and checked in ok. I then got to the room, rang my bank in the UK who said there were no issues with my card or account and the hotel had indeed debited $9.50 from my account!. The excuses the said staff member came up with were unbelievable!
On checking out, there were no staff on the front desk. As the same staff member who attended me the night before was smoking outside, he shouted that he would be a few moments. 5 minutes later he came back in, no apology or thanks for our custom. Reaking of smoke and generally disinterested. If you expect service to match the rate charged stay elsewhere! This experience was a disappointing, given the good service we had received at other Choice group hotels!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if you want good service. Don't pay extra for a balcony room, the hotel is set ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toblerone92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.8 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.2 km away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
3.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
10.5 km away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Galveston

Property: Comfort Suites Galveston
Address: 3606 89th St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-6483
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price range (per night): $123 - $444
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Galveston Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing