We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good All Around” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisherman's Wharf

Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #13 of 306 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Good All Around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Good Food, Good Service, Good View. Right by the Harbor House and the Cruise Dock so it is perfect for pre and post cruise Dining! A little pricey, but then so is Galveston!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    377
    154
    53
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Always a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This was definitely not our first visit to Fisherman's Wharf. We always elect to sit out on their back deck over looking the piers and cruise port. A few times we have actually seen dolphins which made the experience even better.
Food is always great! This round we oysters on the half for an appetizer. These were perfect. Nothing worse than oysters that are not chucked properly or cleaned. No worries here. Our mains, I had the lobster and my husband had the Mahi. Lobster was cooked appropriately and the sides were also good. My husband thought his Mahi was excellent. Our orders came out correct and our wait was not too long. Drinks were good although a little on the weaker side this round.
Service: We have never had a complaint and this time was no different. Our server was pleasant and upbeat. Manager was walking and greeting tables ensuring service was good.
We love Fisherman's Wharf and will return.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aggs7584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, TX
Level Contributor
127 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It's all about the view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The food here was very good. However, I didn't really try the seafood. I had a caesar salad with chicken. My husband had some kind of fried fish with fried shrimp. He ate his whole plate. We had a very nice seat. We were outside right next to the water. It was very neat seeing the schools of fish in the ocean. I was hoping to see some dolphins. I guess they frequent the surrounding area. Would go back for sure due to view. Was so nice watching the wildlife.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank moviegrrl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, Texas
1 review
“Terrible food, good service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We went here for Mother's Day. It was pretty crowded but they sat us within 15 min. Normally this would be a good thing, but, the seating location was right in front of the wait staff drink service station so we spent the whole time feeling like we were in their way. The food prices were steep and we each took turns ordering from the menu (no separate lunch menu. Just a menu for all day). Each order range from 18-20 dollars a person. For this price we were expecting a salad, meal, and possibly, bread of some sort. Well, there was no salad. The food came and there was barely enough to feed anyone. I ordered the griledl shrimp and it was very dry and seemed re-heated from the microwave. My husband ordered the fried seafood platter and got 3 little pieces of seafood and a few fries and some garden vegetables. I would normally think this would be sufficient if we were paying 7-8 dollars a platter, but for 18-20 dollars, I expected alot more food and a better quality of it. Finally, no bread came with our meal. When I asked the server about this, she said bread only came if we requested it. So in other words, if I hadn't asked, they wouldn't have bothered. The only positive thing I have to say about my experience was that the server was very good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Disappointed32059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinining on the Water!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I come to Galveston a couple of time a year and always eat here at least once. The seafood is excellent and the location is great down at the pier. You can sit outside and watch the porpoise swim by while you enjoy the meal. Make sure the mosquitoes are not active if you are there during the summer months. The bacon wrapped shrimp stuffed with cheese are the best I have had.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank mack15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fisherman's Wharf also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing