We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
99
101
70
51
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
101
70
51
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hi express cinnamon rolls small balcony only stayed one night yogurt laundry room across the street king suite the rooms were nice clean hotel nice stay fishing pier great view of the gulf pool and hot tub pre cruise cruise terminal pleasure pier
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

This hotel is extremely over priced for the condition of the room. Both of the lamps by the bed did not have light bulbs. Staff person said she couldn't find any in the maintenance room, she brought one later that did not work. I think they gouge on the price for the weekend rates. Save yourself the pain and frustration by booking somewhere else....anywhere!!!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank CardinalfanMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Dear CardinalfanMissouri,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is truly regrettable that some aspects of our property did not live up to your expectations. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with our room accommodations. Allow us to look into this concern further and give us the opportunity to make it up to you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain additional information. I look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

While the staff was ok, the room was pretty bad. No view, and the television was small and I couldn't get the picture to fit the screen. Called about a room change, but the manager would accommodate. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure the room has a view
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stronggeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear stronggeoff,

Thank you for writing a review. I appreciate your positive remarks about the nice staff. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and superior accommodations. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the room condition and television. I sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations in these areas. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Room dirty. Carpet stained, lamp shade cracked. Would never stay there again! Very disappointed. Lock did not work. Had to get security to come and take a look. He literally hit the lock with his fist and told me to do the same. Being by myself, was not feeling very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Dear Judy N,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston W Seawall, TX. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, especially with cleanliness and the security lock. We will look into this concern. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Galveston.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Last second to reserve due to bad experience with original hotel....very pleased with ladies when checking in. We wasn't expecting to get a room with a view....wow...great rooom with view and balcony.
The homemade cabinet for the mini refrigerator n microwave could had been built better, it worked just couldn't close it.
Maybe time to replace the carpet in the room.
Little disappointed on not having butter for the pancakes and toast on the second day. On third day the pancake machine was needing repair.
Employees was nice and always spoke.
The beach was right across the road.
I would totally stay there again!!!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 606theresab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Booked an overnight May 7 with Loyalty # and Credit Card # to hold reservation for May 21. Called hotel on May 21 at 4pm to let them know we would arrive about 9pm. We were told the reservation was cancelled because of credit card decline (not true), hotel was full, don't bother to come by. Scrambled to find another hotel, least expensive was $300 for the night.

Checked credit card account next morning, charge for Holiday Inn was listed in plain sight. Went by hotel to speak to general Manager (Mehmet Cetinkaya) who basically said it wasn't his problem, talk to Front Desk and turned his back on us. Talked to Front Desk Supervisor Yvonne who was on duty the previous day when we called. She said we must have called wrong hotel.

If we called wrong hotel, why would they say we did have a reservation that was now cancelled. They would not have had a reservation record on us at all.

Then she said we had been a no-show and room was charged. How can you be a "no-show" at 4pm in the afternoon of check-in which is when they told us our reservation had been cancelled? She absolutely denied telling us "the card had been declined (not true), hotel was full, room was cancelled and don't bother coming."

What we hate most is being called liars while at the same time being lied to. We did everything "by the book". Our credit card is always in good standing. We advised them at 4pm we were in town and would be checking in later. We booked through Holiday Inn website with a long-standing loyalty card #. We had our confirmation printed and in our hand.

And by the way, the weekend rate is $284 a night, Sunday night rate is $89. Just saying.....

Room Tip: Don't trust them to hold your reservation.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank MAWWCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet Ç, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Please show us your proof of call ( screenshot of your call list ) ,we will return your money back , thank you, have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews