We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,489)
Filter reviews
4,489 results
Traveller rating
2,372
1,155
527
261
174
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,372
1,155
527
261
174
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ghost tour rooms are small beautiful historic hotel swim up bar city view across the street pool area self parking pleasure pier corner room valet service hotel restaurant king bed gulf of mexico sea wall brunch melissa
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 4,489 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018

We were invited to a wedding and had the party reserved at this hotel, wonderful and beautiful hotel, we enjoyed the staying and of course the wedding!. It is so close to the seawall , you just cross and you are there!!.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nidia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Nidia,
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at Hotel Galvez and Spa, as well as the wedding that you came to attend. We are always delighted to be able to share our excellent location and beautiful grounds with our guests, and we appreciate your feedback tremendously. Thank you very much for your feedback, and we wish you all the best in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

The Hotel Galvez is absolutely my favorite hotel on Galveston Island. It's the oldest and grandest hotel in Galveston. The lobby is adorned with restored chandeliers, beautiful tile floors, an elegant piano, and holds the most fantastic extravagant buffet's on the weekends. The rooms are not extravagant, but are well-appointed and pristine. There are rumors that some rooms are haunted, which is not surprising considering the long history of the hotel. But that is one of its many charms. There's a small museum in the basement of the hotel with information on the hotel's history and also some of the haunting stories. There's usually a hotel representative down there as well, to help inform you about the hotel. The hotel has been majestically restored to its original glory, and is absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: Try the weekend grand buffet at the hotel; it's magnificent.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wadester2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Wade,
It is an honor to be your favorite hotel in Galveston! We're humbled to hear that you love our hotel's historic charm and carefully-preserved grandeur. Thank you for taking a moment to share your compliments with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Galvez & Spa again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Wonderful hotel. We love staying there and try to go every so often. The staff is great and the hotel is clean. Has an old timey feel with modern necessities. I wish we could go more often but we don’t live far enough away to have to stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Drea559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

We love having you! Thank you so much for warming our hearts with your outstanding feedback. Our team here at Hotel Galvez & Spa is blessed to be a part of Galveston history and we work our hardest to share that charm with each and every guest. Seeing your familiar face is a treat and we can't wait for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

As always...the Galvez delivers and does Not disappoint with their amazing Father’s Day Brunch. We were treated with great care and courtesy once again to a delicious assortment of foods! Even our daughter-in-law, an avid vegan, enjoyed the wide selection. The Mimosas were delicious and my favorite dessert item was the cream brûlée! So many choices. Loved it Galvez! We will be back!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Pamela,
We couldn't be happier to know we made your Father's Day celebration one to remember at Hotel Galvez & Spa with our scrumptious brunch and first-class service. We'll be sure to pass along the accolades! Many thanks for the five-star review and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Great place to go for a couple days. The front desk service is top notch. The bar staff is friendly and attentive. The guys doing the valet parking and luggage are very service oriented. Bottom line we go to this property fairly often and find the staff friendly, professional, and very service oriented and we enjoy our stay

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank redload1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

It is truly a pleasure to receive such positive feedback on our hardworking team members. We are delighted to know that you continue to stay with us here at Hotel Galvez & Spa, and it is an honor to be able to consistently provide you with the quality service that you deserve. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews