We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming Stay in the Hill Country - Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palo Alto Creek Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palo Alto Creek Farm
Ranked #16 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming Stay in the Hill Country - Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We wanted to spend a weekend in the hill country and found Palo Alto Creek Farm online. I wasn't sure what to expect, but this has to be one of the most unique, romantic and relaxing places I have ever stayed. We stayed in The Barn, which was more than enough room for 2 people. It had a fireplace, hot tub, fully stocked kitchen - and even a private room for a masseuse (who was recommended by Palo Alto and arrived shortly after we called her) to give us both amazing massages. We ventured into town a few times to eat, but we really couldn't get enough of the peaceful relaxation at The Barn. A great hill county experience and the perfect gem if you're looking for a relaxing, rustic getaway in Texas.

Room Tip: The Barn was amazing! I would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DFWTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We spent 2 nites in the Hideaway, the smallest of the farm's lodgings. The cabin was decorated with country decor, the bed was covered in quilts. The bathroom had a large walk-in shower, stocked with mid-quality shampoo and soaps. The out door porch wrapped around the house, offering a lovely view of the farm's goats & donkeys. The only downside of our stay was no TV but they did have a DVD. Breakfast was plentiful, & lots of fruit. The location is far enough from Fredricksburg to offer peace & quiet, but is a 5 minute hop into town. The rental agency (Gasthaus Schmidt) was quick, helpful & efficient .Highly reccommended.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for The Barn or The Log Cabin- they have fireplaces & sunken tubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieHoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We had a great girl's wine weekend and stayed in The Itz House, it is really great and has everything that you need to relax and be right at home. This is really a lovely place to stay and relax. Very comfy and has lots of country charm. Feels like your living in a Ralph Lauren add. We did the Texas Wine Tour and had Bill as our driver who was lots of fun and very informative. Fun place for a weekend away with a great friend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluestarbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

My husband and I highly recommend staying in the barn. It was the perfect setting for a romantic Valentine's escape. We packed a picnic basket full of goodies and dined by the a fire in the barn. We are already thinking about another visit to this charming country retreat.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JSTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

We just returned from an amazing trip to Fredericksburg and a stay at the Palo Alto Creek Farm. It was one of the most relaxing and romantic trips we have ever taken. We stayed in the log cabin. It was cold and we LOVED having the big fireplace in the living room and especially the one in the bathroom! The food that was left for us for breakfast for both mornings was amazing and plentiful. We loved every bit of it and it was so fresh and more than enough. We even took some with us as we hiked enchanted rock.

At Palo Alto we felt like we were close to town, but without the noise of main street. We loved that we had complete privacy. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looking4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.9 km away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.2 km away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
1.1 km away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palo Alto Creek Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palo Alto Creek Farm

Property: Palo Alto Creek Farm
Address: 231 West Main, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palo Alto Creek Farm is a true country getaway. We offer all the amenities of a fine hotel with the privacy of your own home. 4 guesthouses have everything you need for a romantic weekend or a fully equipped home for a longer visit. Aside from our day spa and massage services, a favorite activity at the farm is sitting in the swing under the ancient grandfather Oak tree—the same tree the Comanche probably sheltered beneath. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing