We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flys and more flys”
Review of Hill Top Cafe

Hill Top Cafe
Ranked #57 of 149 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Whilst i had a nice glass of wine i was surroundex by flys everywhere. This is largely due to the dirt and food lying around and on table tops. There is even an abundance of dead flies around the windows... i woukd not want to eat here

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Mermaidmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillTopCafeTx, Manager at Hill Top Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Not sure if you really visited Hill Top Cafe since your reviews on this day were from a ll over the word. But we do not have flies in our cafe no do we have dead flies, dirt or food all over the place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

Had an awesome dinner at this quaint “Cafe” in the middle of nowhere! Service outstanding and food just as fabulous. The blackened red snapper and veggies were prepare just right. The frog legs and catfish that my friend had were just as good. Hostess/waitress was a gem

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank FRED W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

Been going to the Hilltop for 20 years. They’ve had their ups and downs but overall a unique and delicious place with amazing live music from Johnny Nicholas. The food is a Cajun Greek American mix. Something for everyone. Lively atmosphere when Johnny is playing. Sunday brunch is great. A must if you’re visiting Fredericksburg.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Patty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Our family group of twelve made Thanksgiving reservations far in advance, having read such good reviews of Hilltop Cafe. We highly suspect that any excellent, good or fair reviews must be written by friends of the owner!

The food was barely edible and served with such rudeness that we should have walked out, but who wants to exhibit such poor manners in front of children. The waitresses and waiter, that's who. We did have an indication of this when dining there the night before, but since we had made Thanksgiving reservations, did not want to cancel and skip out on our obligation.

Thanksgiving was pre-fix standard turkey, dressing, creamed potatoes, gravy and green beans. For twelve, five hard, knotty little rolls were plopped down on one end of the table on a small saucer. Additional were requested, but not delivered. When asked for a small portion of extra gravy, our guest was asked "why"? The turkey was sketchy, the dressing dubious, and potatoes adequate. We were not offered a wine list. Wretched dessert of pumpkin bread pudding was only upon request although included in set price.

Of our family of twelve, two were toddlers, one did not eat and one had the chikdren's plate. $800.00 later, we left feeling severely misguided, rudely treated and thoroughly disgusted by the entire event.

Our dinner the night before was just as horrible, but we had traveled from far distances, knew Hilltop was supposed to be good, so took a chance, loaded up again and went out for a bite. They didnt even want us to come in the dorr, saying "this is our busiest night of the year"! Guess what, there were only three other tables taken! The shrimp were raw, the gumbo was wretched and not even the salads were not good. We gave them the benefit of doubt because, after all, it was their "busiest night of the year".

Hilltop Cafe should go out of business. Most of our group was from Houston and this establishment would not last a day here.

Try Auslanders for both excellent food and service.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank vanitasmithey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

We had the best fried oysters ever about a year ago at Hill Top and couldn’t wait to go back. They were out of oysters all last spring and were excited to learn that they had them again! We made the hour drive from our home last Friday. We were very disappointed! They were over breaded and hard and you couldn’t taste the oysters at all! $24 for something so tasteless was very upsetting. Won’t go back there. Too bad!

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hill Top Cafe also viewed

Fredericksburg, TX
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Hill Top Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing