We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reviews wrong for this lace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Reviews wrong for this lace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

I checked in here before reading Trip A reviews---luckily, as it's fine! I got 30% off for three nights stay, WIFI, hot breakfast, clean, nice room, and friendly staff. I also physically visited/checked out several of the top 10 listings on TA before coming here and I am totally stunned that people rate them higher than this hotels. It all makes me wonder about TA ratings' accuracy or value! I mean really, one was an old 50s motel, no WIFi, no breakfast and far more expensive?????

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
We recommend to read this positive review for a 2nd time and also wish to request the same for Trip Advisor Management to fully understand that our hotel deserves a higher placement.

Effective May 1, 2011 Breakfast has been enhanced to a Full Hot American Breakfast Buffet Bistro. Due to brand new management, we have improved in guest relations, customer relations, and other related fields to maximize guest satisfaction. We like to extend our thanks once again for your continued loyal support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    40
    39
    11
    21
See reviews for
33
52
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

I cannot remember when I have had a worse experience at a hotel! I called ahead to confirm our reservation and was told check-in was 4p.m. but the rooms were clean and we could check in earlier if we preferred. We arrived at 4:30p.m. and was told our rooms were not clean. We were told there was a king bed on the first floor that we could check into, which we did; however, we were not told that the rate was higher than the rate for our original rooms. I had to call the reservations desk to clear up the issue and give us the same rate as the original room we had reserved.
If you want to stay at a quiet hotel and want to actually sleep at said hotel, stay away from this one. We may as well have been sitting with the people in the room next door to us as we could hear their entire conversation - and they were not yelling. I am not sure if it is legal to build a hotel out of paper, but it certainly seemed like the walls were that thin!
We got a good deal on the rooms; however, I will pay triple the price to not have to stay at this hotel next time - it is a disgrace to the Hill Country!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Effective May 1, 2011 Breakfast has been enhanced to a Full Hot American Breakfast Buffet Bistro. Due to brand new management, we have improved in guest relations, customer relations, and other related fields to maximize guest satisfaction. We like to extend our thanks once again for your continued loyal support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fredericksburg hotels

Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Need to go to school on "how to talk to there guest." Not to friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Effective May 1, 2011 Breakfast has been enhanced to a Full Hot American Breakfast Buffet Bistro. Due to brand new management, we have improved in guest relations, customer relations, and other related fields to maximize guest satisfaction. We like to extend our thanks once again for your continued loyal support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abilene
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

As we pulled back our bed sheets, I began counting the long black hairs throughout the sheets... 6 total before I jumped back to call the front desk. It was already 11:30 at night, so their offer to move us to another room was not reasonable. Instead, we had them bring us CLEAN sheets, and we had to make the bed ourselves. The next morning when we asked the manager if they saw the note from the night manager, she said yes, and proceeded to only offer us a mere $20 discount. OUTRAGEOUS. The whole point of a hotel is the BED to sleep in. She thought it absolutely unreasonable to grant us a 50% discount or even a free night. Finally, after much attitude and griping about having to tell her boss while she was doing it, she granted the 50% discount. This day manager was completely unprofessional and I would not recommend this hotel to ANYone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaylene123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aakash2012, Owner at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2010
Please accept our apologies its is never our intention to check in any guest to a room where a guest feels it is not up to their standards. We did try to move you to another room and we did try to change the sheets for you. If our hotel had been sold out and there were no other rooms to move you to I would have given you a 50% discount or even comped your stay. Please note we did try to do whatever we could to make you happy at that moment but were unsuccesful. Again we do apologies for any inconvience we might have caused you.

Sincerly
Robert Ortegon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nb, Tx
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Only stayed one nite during spring break and had our 2 grandsons with us. hotel was clean as was the room we had. Breakfast had make you own wafffles with sausage, biscuits, toast, bagels and cereal with coffee and juice. motel was located on the quiet end of town, but still very close to downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sightseerNb_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Effective May 1, 2011 Breakfast has been enhanced to a Full Hot American Breakfast Buffet Bistro. Due to brand new management, we have improved in guest relations, customer relations, and other related fields to maximize guest satisfaction. We like to extend our thanks once again for your continued loyal support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
3.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
2.7 km away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
#15 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.6 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel

Property: Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Address: 1220 North US Highway 87, Fredericksburg, TX 78624 (Formerly Howard Johnson Fredericksburg-Hill Country)
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price range (per night): $81 - $210
Hotel Class:2 star — Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing