We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth finding in Dallas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avila's Mexican Restaurant

Avila's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #146 of 3,560 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 1 - USD 20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Northwest Dallas-love Field
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth finding in Dallas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I flew into DFW and on my drive to East Texas I couldn't help but to try the restaurant I just saw featured on Diners Drive-ins and Dives. I love that on a daily basis you can have food that most Mexican restaurants only have on their menus on weekends and holidays e.g. tamales and pozole – both of which were fantastic. I also had a gordita, which was SOOOO greasy and delicious. I generally do not eat pork and don’t eat food fried in oil. For good TexMex, though, you have to be willing to eat a high calorie meal and spend an extra 15 minutes on the treadmill later on. I was in and out of the restaurant in 20 minutes and thoroughly satisfied. I go back to TX for work this week and I will definitely stop by to try what I didn’t get to have my first visit – pechuga de pollo.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ICUHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    58
    19
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best mexican food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Avila's is the cutest little restaurant! But the food and service is what makes it 5 star! The food is fresh and authentic, and they have a nice selection to choose from. Must trys: The tamales, brisket taco, and the queso! The service is fast and friendly. We never got low on drinks or chips and salsa. If your ever in Texas don't miss trying this place!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chonie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“DDD suggested, and a winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I saw this place mentioned on Diner's, Drive-in's, and Dive's and it did not disappoint. A little hard to recognize as it is located in a revamped duplex, but the food is terrific. Friendly service, great atmosphere, and fantastic food.
I would suggest the Chili Relleno
Poblano pepper stuffed to order served with ranchero sauce and Monterrey cheese, pico de
gallo – cheese; beef or chicken; brisket

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Carylumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el paso, tx
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food at reasonable prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Avila's is one of those places where you take visitors to get a taste of great Mexican food. Most of the customers are long time El Pasoans...mostly "Gringos"...who have been frequenting this restaurant since childhood! All the entres are tasty, but you must try the delicious "chile con queso" as an appetizer! And you will love the complimentary "sopaipilla" for dessert!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank msmolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What Mexican Food is supposed to tates like!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Excellent selection, wonderful flavour, great prices.... the perfect choice for great Mexican food without the usual "ambiance" hype. Simply put, the best in El Paso!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 08FLHRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avila's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Avila's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing