We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Dallas trip”
Review of NHS Bar and Grill

NHS Bar and Grill
Ranked #627 of 4,027 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: USD 30 - USD 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Enjoyed a great meal here with colleagues. My only nit is that my cocktail tasted a bit like cough syrup, but after that, everything was top notch. We shared the meatballs (awesome sauce!), the asparagus (crispy and good!), and a seafood special (wolfed down by others). I had the Veal Shoulder Schnitzel (very good) and I tasted the Connor's Pork Rib Chop (outstanding). We also got the mac-n-cheese side (yum). Service was attentive throughout. Wine bottle prices were reasonable and our super-Tuscan was very good. Great experience.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephanie_5o3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2016

Hands down. Even though it's not a seafood restaurant, their seafood dishes are PERFECT. Paired perfectly, cooked perfectly. Delicious.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank laurenmulkeyshriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Our family ate here on a Wednesday night, and everyone was disappointed in the
quality of the food as well as the quantity of the servings. We feel that the restaurant
has passed its prime and has 1. cut back on quality, 2. taken its past success for granted, 3. lost its attention to taking care of the customer. Who ever heard of chicken pot pie as a special of the day in an "upscale" restaurant? And it was not as good as what you would get in a grocery freezer. Fish serving was so thin, I could see the plate through it. Meatball appetizers were cold and tough. Salsa appetizer came with four chips. Steak was not cooked as ordered, but was afraid to send it back. They seem to be always busy, but time will show they are in a down and out spiral, as are many Dallas restaurants. Good luck, and bring your Big Visa.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jack6307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We live nearby and eat here often. I love that there is another option for fine dining in the Preston Hollow area. Usually, the staff is very polite, but occasionally you get a very snooty bartender or server. That is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars, because some of the wait staff are rude and condescending - even though we go there are all the time. Love a lot of things on the menu - especially the fried asparagus, the Veal Schnitzel with spaetzle is AMAZING. Also, the scallops are delicious.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TMB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Went there last night for the first time. The wait staff is very well trained and extremely pleasant and thorough. Had meat loaf special for that night. Portion is very large. My wife had the trout special and loved it. Hint - split a wedge. Only negative is that they do not have house wine, so you pay a premium for wine. Also, had the banana pudding - No Nilla's in it. Very nice restaurant, but there many of these in Dallas.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NHS Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to NHS Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.