We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Joule, Dallas
Ranked #6 of 200 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

The hotel is very central around the bars and restaurants, and only 10 min. walk from the JFK museum. Certainly 5 Star, the quality of the fittings and furnishings is very high in all areas of the hotel and function rooms. Food was delicious. The most outstanding thing about this hotel was the customer service. Everybody was extremely helpful and pleasant no matter what their role was. I would certainly go there again.

Room Tip: There is a bit of building work going on at the moment on the vacant land at the back and to the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen0155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    172
    45
    25
    27
See reviews for
86
348
53
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Upon arriving the tone was very distinguished and sophisticated. The decor and lighting was over the top sexy. I would say it seemed more like a gentleman's hotel, which was confirmed when I saw the focus on the bathroom reading material display.
The amenities from the Bose sound system to the toiletries were very upscale and the service was wonderful. Great bedding, very quiet room, and no light peeking through the drapes which meant a great nights sleep every night.
Ben made dinner reservations for us at Nick and Sam's (a must go to restaurant) and we were treated like VIP's, with several comp. appetizers.
One draw back was the impractical lighting in the bathroom, it was very difficult to apply make up in the morning. A SPG upgrade would have been nice.
Overall 4+ stars!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mymothersbuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Beautiful Hotel... very chic room interior with lots of beautiful furnishes... service was not 5 star or what I expected from this level of a hotel(maybe I spend too much time in Asia). While I think the hotel is great the location in Downtown Dallas is not great. There is nothing to do around there besides go to Neiman Marcus and a few restaurants. Beautiful decor but lacks 5 star service... maybe I expect more out of this property but for the price paid for a Dallas Hotel I expected the service to be on the same level. The hotel looks like it belongs in Asia or some FAB European city but the service is very Dallas... Meaning the service just did not live up to the interior of the hotel. This hotel seems like a platinum W...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nychellzkitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

WOW ....is all we have to stay after seeing this amazing property. Came to Dallas for a little R&R and visit some friends. Perfect downtown location close to everything. Amazing service, we did not have to lift one finger at all. The hotel is just gourgeous and loooks like they thought about everything down to the smallest detail.

The rooms are out of this world and furnished beautifully. Everything from martini sets to televisions built into the mirrors in the bathroom.

The restaurant was Charlie Palmers and we ate there for lunch, snacks and they even do the room service for the hotel, make sure to try the peanut butter French Toast!

The pool is a hotspot and overlooks downtown and has a bar.

I wish we could have stayed longer but will come back for sure!

Room Tip: I think we had a Jr. Suite, was great and had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevininco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The Joule is certainly amongst the best hotels within the SPG system. Stayed here for a few days for business last year. And I can’t wait to go back

Good:
• Amazing décor throughout the hotel. From the lobby to the rooms, this hotel has been very tastefully decorated
• Rooms – Very chic rooms. Bose iPod docs. High quality toiletries. Admittedly the open bathroom concept may not suit a lot of people so be aware
• Food – Charlie Palmer is a very very good restaurant. The salmon here is especially good
• Service – Very good and the staff are very friendly. This extends to the restaurants as well

Bad:
• No parking within the hotel itself so if you do not wish to pay for valet parking you have to drive around to a nearby parking building
• No upgrades for SPG Platinum members – although since I was travelling for business, I didn’t particularly care. The standard rooms are nice enough

Overall, this is a fantastic hotel and certainly one of the best in SPG in North America. Would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astronomer_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,965 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
The Ritz-Carlton, Dallas
The Adolphus
#16 of 200 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,529 reviews
The Fairmont Dallas
#17 of 200 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Property: The Joule, Dallas
Address: 1530 Main St, Dallas, TX 75201-4804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#4 Business Hotel in Dallas
#5 Family Hotel in Dallas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#5 Spa Hotel in Dallas
Price range (per night): $388 - $819
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule Hotel, named for the international unit of energy, is the stunning product of a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic landmark Dallas building, three restored buildings of 1930's vintage, and several new structures. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of old world quality and contemporary design, while densely populated throughout by museum quality artwork from names including Tony Cragg, Tony Tasset, Andy Warhol and Richard Phillips. In addition to new guest rooms, spectacular multi-story penthouses and bespoke lobby experience, the property includes an impressive glass-fronted rooftop cantilevered pool, subterranean spa, rooftop terrace with glass pavilion, beautiful event spaces, first-class dining, vibrant cocktail destinations and one-of-a-kind shopping experiences. The Joule is an artfully delivered experience set in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the Dallas Arts District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing