We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Surreal Experience”

The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza
Ranked #7 of 211 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of Texas’ most visited historic sites, The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza chronicles the life, death and legacy of President John F. Kennedy. The Museum is in the former Texas School Book Depository building, where evidence of a sniper was found after the assassination of President Kennedy on November 22, 1963. Much of the exhibit space looks as it appeared in the 1960s. Highlights include a sniper’s perch, the FBI model used by the Warren Commission, an original teletype machine that first transmitted news of the president’s death, Oswald’s wedding ring, historic films, photos and more. An interactive display overlooks Dealey Plaza. Admission includes an audio guide, available in eight languages including ASL. The museum is open daily in 2018 except Christmas. Timed tickets can be purchased in advance at jfk.org.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Worth your time. Very interesting information about a sad time in American History. Neat experience to see a place Iv'e watch ever since that day in November 1963.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 7Terry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSixthFloorMuseum, Social Media Coordinator at The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Sounds like you had a meaningful visit. Thanks for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"audio tour"
in 903 reviews
"sixth floor museum"
in 592 reviews
"grassy knoll"
in 623 reviews
"conspiracy theories"
in 335 reviews
"own pace"
in 318 reviews
"lee harvey oswald"
in 299 reviews
"events leading up"
in 82 reviews
"american history"
in 252 reviews
"president kennedy"
in 201 reviews
"self guided"
in 111 reviews
"texas school book depository"
in 149 reviews
"dealey plaza"
in 328 reviews
"elm street"
in 95 reviews
"piece of history"
in 132 reviews
"history lesson"
in 96 reviews
"his life"
in 82 reviews
"take pictures"
in 164 reviews
Filter

571 - 575 of 8,294 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

My husband and I love museums and history. This one was exceptional! I loved the audio tour, it was so enriching. Get there early! We got there right when it opened and still stood in line for almost 35 minutes to get onto the elevator!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSixthFloorMuseum, Social Media Coordinator at The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

We are very sorry the Museum was crowded during your visit, but appreciate your feedback. Thank you for visiting The Sixth Floor Museum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

An excellent display and audio guide to the life of JFK and his asassination. Quite a moving experience.Leaves one still questioning how it happened and why.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank MaryMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSixthFloorMuseum, Social Media Coordinator at The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you for visiting The Sixth Floor Museum. We appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I was not born when JFK was shot but even I am aware of the fascination with the Kennedy family. The museum is fantastic. You are provided with an audio guide which gives you some of the history of the family and what was going on locally at the time.

You can easily spend a couple of hours here so it's really good value for money. Looking out the window to see the X marked on the street where the car was when JFK was shot is quite a sobering experience. It really brings it home to you.

There is also lots of detail about the subsequent investigation which is fascinating. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 868joannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSixthFloorMuseum, Social Media Coordinator at The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

We are glad you enjoyed visiting The Sixth Floor Museum. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I took a history buff to see this historic site and museum when we traveled to Dallas and he thought it was very well done. So did I. It is a must see for everyone travelling to Dallas. No denying the history and significance in our history and you get to see it hands on.
It gets crowded at peak times, wish they would control the times better, but it was worth it even in peak time. Not recommended for young children as they would get bored and there is so much to listen and read, it would be difficult to do it with children.
Parking onsite for $10.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSixthFloorMuseum, Social Media Coordinator at The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thanks for the helpful tips about visiting The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza. We appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Sixth Floor Museum at Dealey Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing