We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Back to nature

We drove up to the parking area here from our cabin. We then walked down to the lake with the dog... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Ameribrit2015
,
Arlington, Texas
via mobile
Enjoyable park!

We were pleasantly surprised with this little park. There is alot of parking, quite a few very... read more

Reviewed 15 November 2018
SteelCity13
,
Austin, Texas
Read all 76 reviews
  
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
45
25
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
25
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great view of the lake walked down watch the sunset dam benches path park water stroll trash lakeside shore rocks bag shade boats
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Have you ever noticed how some people are easier to draw out if they’re physically active? Well that’s the case in our family, and for honest heart to heart chats - this is a great place. You’re outside and for the most part it’s pretty peaceful and easy to stay focused on each other. Enjoy nature ✨

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank TeamBosquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Phenomenal views that we weren’t expecting driving up. Trails, facilities and history on the 2002 flood. A nice time to visit during more of the off season

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank gustav2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

I was there on a Saturday, and if you get there early enough (10 or 11am) you'll have the place all to yourself. After lunch time it started getting pretty packed, but thankfully we already had our hammock spots set up and everyone else was posted at the shoreline.

The water is crystal clear blue, a beauty as you walk to it from the short, steep hike down to get there. The park is free entry and bathrooms are available at the entrance.

If you walk down the shoreline away from the dam, there are some big boulders about 8 feet above the water that are perfect to jump from if you want some adrenaline. Otherwise, the water is perfect to wade in and I liked playing in the gentle waves as the boats passed by.

Pack some snacks and plenty of water, and BRING A TRASH BAG. That was the one downfall is how littered the park is. Other than that, highly recommend for a nice day trip!

Date of experience: July 2017
3  Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

I really enjoyed the park. It was hot as Hades as it is still be expected during the Texas summer. We received some respite when the sun went behind the clouds. We took a walk on the dam which had a great view of the lake and even spotted a squirrel living amongst the rocks on the lake side of the dam. We also hiked down to the water and although we didn't get in the water looked great. It was very clean and there were several families swimming. There wasn't a beach entrance so it was a little rocky, but not bad. It's a great way to spend time enjoying the water and to get great views of the lake. The park is free and closes at sunset.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank 729mikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Fun to walk across the dam and catch a rock squirrel on your path! The lake views are sensational! We loved the views!

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank B3718AEheatherg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews