We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another Great Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Longknowe

The house under the hills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house under the hills
From the Hill above Longknowe main bedroom queen sized bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The house under the hills
From the Hill above Longknowe
main bedroom queen sized bed
farmhouse kitchen
second double bedroom
view from second bedroom
top sitting room
second sitting room
renovated tiled bathroom and power shower
Front of house -  High Summer
twin beds great views!
looking out from the front door
Shepherd's Wagon, sleeps two can be rented in summer
Inside Shepherd's Wagon
The lane into the hills towards Longknowe - a public byway
Bunk room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kilham, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dominic M
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Great Stay”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third year as a group visiting Longknowe and it did not disappoint.

On Friday we stopped off at Alnmouth on the way and found a gem, the village was lovely and the beach beautiful, we were lucky with the weather and the sun got out for us.

We arrived at Longknowe on the Friday afternoon and found it spotless and ready for our stay.

The accommodation is first class and one of the bathrooms had been modernised, what a lovely job.

Our group love the remote location and the peace and quiet adds to the great experience.

We will be booking again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote location, the peace and quiet.
Liked least: Nothing to report.....
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
Thank you Dominic, delighted to have you at the house, I'm glad you enjoyed it and that the new bathrooms was ready for you. Look forward to having you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelBD
London
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Extraordinary house in beautiful location”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is far and away the best holiday house we've ever stayed in. We're now on our second visit, this time with extended family (three generations from grandparents to a toddler) and we'll be back again! The house is far more than a holiday rental - it's a true family home that Paul and Jo are generous enough to share with their guests, and such a privilege it is to be here too. The house itself is spacious and very well equipped, with everything that we could want for our large group (including loads of books and dressing up clothes, as well as other toys and games - kitchen table tennis much enjoyed again!) and the location could not be better - close enough to Wooler, but far enough away from everything that the sound of birdsong and sheep in the surrounding fields is the only noise to be heard from the house. Walks aplenty right from the door, and the castles and beaches of Northumberland only a short drive away. Kids had a ball; grown ups relaxed; wonderful week had by all.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Winter Weekend Break.”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Our party of five adults and two children thoroughly enjoyed our short break here. Well equipped and comfortable home from home. It was a cold and windy weekend but we were snug and warm in the cottage. The children played games and dressed up, they never once missed the television.
We had a large family meal on Saturday, it was nice to relax around the large kitchen table which also doubles for table tennis.
It would be nice to return for another visit.
Many thanks Jo.
Chris and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina G
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for us !”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location and peaceful, Jo (the owner) was very helpful and patient with us as we had many questions! We have a son with autism and have lots of safety questions and safety of location. The Longknowe was perfect, beautiful surroundings. We spent our time relaxing whilst the children played outside in the fields and baking on the AGA. Its so lovely I have requested to re book!! Thanks Jo !! Martina & gang

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Property”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful comfortable cosy cottage with exceptional kitchen area. We enjoyed large family meals around the massive kitchen table and enjoyed cooking on the aga. Perfect for a family gathering.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing