We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Falutin Cabin in The Preserve Resort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Timberwinds Log Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We stayed in the High Falutin Cabin in the Preserve Resort. Booking through Timberwinds was very easy and we had absolutely no problems. The resort is very nice and the views are amazing. There is a nice pool and an area with rocking chairs and a fireplace. Resort is approx. 20 minutes from Pigeon Forge. The cabin itself was beautiful and professionally decorated with rocking chairs on each of the 3 decks. Very nice game room in the basement. This is the place to stay if you want to see bears. We saw several different bears each night we were there. The only issue we noticed was that there needs to be a lock provided for the trash container box because you will be picking up trash if you throw any food away (most of the other units had locks). We found a dead scorpion in the downstairs bathroom but it wasn't really an issue.The cabin is a little hard to find at first but once you know where it is, you will have no problems finding it again. We will definitely stay here when we return for our family vacation.

Room Tip: The cabins are not private and is more like a subdivision. There are small grills out front. No real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Catdog71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2015

My wife and myself are both into old homes and wanted to find a cabin with a bit of history to stay for a week with the family. We came across the Red Bank Schoolhouse and loved the look of it. We booked it for a weeks stays which began on 7/26/15 and we left on 7/30/15. When we arrived, it was better than I thought. My worry was that it would not be as remote as we would like ,but it is stuck back down a small, narrow deadend road, with only a single house next to it. There are other houses in that area, but that are spread out fairly well. VIEW IS AMAZING. Front porch overlooks a large valley with a mountain on the other side. Big front yard for the kids to play and they LOVED going down in front of the house to the fence and feeding the cows.

The house is definitely rustic and and you can feel the history. There are picture albums which detail the history of the house with great detail. We had fun reading through the history of the place. There are also pictures on the wall of the original students that went there. If you want new, this is not your place. This place feels like an old country home as soon as you walk in and is very cozy and comfortable. All the rooms are decorated with rustic items, the beds have quilts, the hardwood floors squeaked, the couches are old but comfortable, and the entire place just feels relaxing. We noticed the house was not level, but that just added to the personality of the place. The hot tub on the porch is great at night. Great view of the lighting bugs flying around, the sound of tree frogs, and the crystal clear stars. I just wish it was cooler so we could have fired up the wood fireplace.

The cabin is located in a great spot. Only 3 minutes form the Tuckaleechee Cavern, 5 minutes from the Davy Crocket Stables (which our kids loved btw), and and if you take a hike to the dead end of the road, you can hike the gap trails in the national park which lead to Cades Coves. Its a steep hike so we only hiked to the trail head. You can leave the house and be in Cades Cove in 30 minutes. There is also a grocery store about 15 minutes away. So it is in a convenient location.

Our entire week there was wonderful. I wanted to spend more time just laying around and relaxing at the cabin, but my kinds wanted to go see everything. But it was great coming home in the afternoon after a full day of fun and just kick back and relax. The only issue we had was during at 5:00 in the afternoon on the first day, the main AC unit went out. I called Randy at Timberwinds and he had someone come out and fix it that night. Most places would have said to wait until the next day, but be took care of us. It worked fine the rest of the week. We hated to leave, but plan on booking it again on our next vacation. Highly recommend this place, if you are into cozy farmhouse style cabins.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ClayDuboisSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here and it was perfect for a couple with no kids. The view from the deck was breathtaking. The hot tub was great. It has PS3 with some games if you're the gaming type. Bed was super comfy. We had a Ford Flex and were able to turn around, but it would be tight for a big pickup or suburban type.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Blair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed a week in the Timberwinds Hemlock cabin. Cabin was a good setup for 2 with one king bed. It had a full kitchen with everything you need minus food. The bathroom had a shower and large(I do mean large jetted tub that could have easily handled five people) In the main area was a big couch and pool table. There is also a deck in the back with a 2 person jacuzzi and wonderful view of Gatlinburg and My Leconte.
We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jrd2942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Adorable cabin for a couple (even an old one like us)! The furnishings are lovely, everything very clean and in perfect working order. I called the manager due to the front porch light bulb being out and it was replaced immediately! He answers the phone every time you call (I needed directions, etc.) and he is so friendly and helpful, that means so much as you get older!
My favorite part of our stay was the Jacuzzi tub, after spending hours out with our realtor searching for a cabin to buy to retire soon. My husband spent hours just relaxing on the deck in the evenings, very private and cozy!
We would certainly return and recommend this cabin to any couple! The king-size canopy bed is gorgeous and comfy!

Room Tip: Read the reviews! There are always going to be a few bad ones, because people tend to write a review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank pamsplaycare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsend hotels
1.6 km away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
623 reviews
2.5 km away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
4 km away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Highland Manor Inn & Conference Center
2.1 km away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberwinds Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberwinds Log Cabins

Address: 132 Timberwinds Way, P.O. Box 233, Townsend, TN 37882
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Townsend
Price Range: $107 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Timberwinds Log Cabins Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing