We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
28
7
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
7
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lodge rooms boat ramp family reunion beautiful lake the staff was super friendly stayed here center hill rockers property holly lodging kitchenette furnishings wifi
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

I enjoyed my few days here, but I was staying for meetings in the area. This would be a fun place for a group to come together. Beautiful view of the lake from the second floor lodge room. Nice porch with rockers.

Room tip: Parental controls were set on my TV by last guest. All I could watch was Nascar. Not a fan!
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Businesstrvlr12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We just spent two days at the retreat, but could have spent several more. It's a beautiful location with excellent amenities, close to Smithville where we found several very good restaurants (the cafe on the property was closed since we were there off season and mid-week). Also close to Edgar Evins State Park where we rented a boat for a day. Excellent way to relax and enjoy the area.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

We have been looking for a place to stop near I-40 travelling between our Saint Louis home and our summer cabin near Asheville for several years. This quiet unspoiled lakeside setting with newly renovated rooms appointed with regional furnishings was perfect for our needs and taste. The staff was eager to respond to our every request and we were pleased to learn more about The Retreat's mission to care for and empower young adults learning the hospitality industry. We will stop at The Retreat every summer to enjoy its beauty and support its important nonprofit work. The Revs. Gardner/Andrews

Room tip: We enjoyed the porch of our 2nd floor lakefront room.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank simgardner1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Our ladies church retreat was held here. The rooms in the lodge have been updated and are beautiful! The beds are comfortable and the view of the lake from the rooms is breathtaking. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony at night and enjoying the peacefulness of the lake. Great place for family vacations, retreats, family reunions, etc.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Allison1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

We had our first-ever family reunion and this was a beautiful location. We stayed in the newly remodeled Holly Suites and we were pleased and impressed. The staff was warm, welcoming, and always helpful!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lzechmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews