We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Overall great deal”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Don N
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again! Disappointing cabin, and even worse customer service!”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I rented the Theater in the Mountains cabin in Pigeon Forge, TN in August, 2016 and we were very disappointed with many aspects of the cabin.

The most ridiculous issue was the fact that the cabin’s name highlights the theater, but we were unable to use it at all because there was no DVD player attached! In fact, there was only one DVD player in the entire cabin that worked, and even that one caused every disc to skip. Also, while the cabin details do not indicate that there is a Blu-ray player available, we just assumed that there would be at least one available for the “theater” since the name of the cabin is "Theater in the Mountains". We were very wrong!. Finally, the televisions in the bedrooms and family rooms were terrible quality.

The main floor of the cabin was unbelievably creaky! We couldn’t walk down the hallway without waking up anyone who was trying to sleep. The floors were so thin that we could easily hear conversations in rooms above and below. The beds were also very uncomfortable and almost as noisy as the floors!

The incredibly cheap electric fireplaces look very nice in pictures, but only 3 out of the 7 units actually worked. Management’s response was that we weren’t supposed to be using the fireplaces in the summer. However, we didn’t want the heat – we only wanted the display since the fake fire display and the heat are on completely separate controls. Both sets of blinds were missing the bar to adjust the blind angle in one of the bedrooms and in another bedroom, the curtain rod separated and fell to the floor any time we tried to open or close them. Finally, two of the three lights in the main fixture were burned out in one of the upstairs bedrooms.

The pool table was also a joke. It was so crooked that we couldn’t play a real game on it. Some of the pockets were falling out and others were held in place with very loose drywall screws. The area under the rails were so full of dust that it was gross. Finally, there was only one usable cue stick and the chalk that was available was Crayola driveway chalk!!

The front of the dryer is not attached to the rest of the unit and caused some of our clothes to get stuck between the drum and the front panel which damaged some items. It was clear that an attempt had been made to use duct tape to hold the front panel in place, but the tape was torn.

The plastic container that the trash cans are in on the front porch are NOT bear-proof. We woke up one morning to find that the lid was open and there was trash spread across the porch and on the side of the cabin.

Finally, the charcoal grills were absurd! One of the grills was unusable because it was so crooked and there was a large rock filling a huge hole in the bottom. The other one was so rusty and gross that we hesitated to use it at all. Also, the instructions for the grill said to leave the ashes in the grill which meant that it is a one-time use grill since there is no housekeeping during your stay.

We were genuinely shocked by the number of significant issues that this cabin had considering the cost and the fact that we rented it through Wyndham Vacation Rentals. When I contacted Wyndham with these concerns upon our return home, they argued every point. I tried to leave a review on the Wyndham website that we made our reservation through, but they refused to post it because they claimed that my comments were “inaccurate”! I asked what was inaccurate and their response included these comments:
1) they were able to get a second DVD player to work after they “reset it” (there were 7 DVD players in the cabin - none of which was attached to the "theater")
2) cabins are built out of wood and we should have expected it to be creaky
3) they had received no other complaints about the thin walls and floors (I did find some, but only as part of reviews with 5 star ratings)
3) they said that “We all know that beds can be uncomfortable when one is not used to them”
4) they said that guests shouldn’t use the fireplaces in the summer, so it didn’t matter if they worked
5) they claimed that the pool table is level and that there were 3 cue sticks (there were actually 2 cue sticks on the wall, but one of them was missing the tip)

They did not address any of my other “inaccurate” concerns. I submitted a second review over 2 weeks ago that gave the cabin 1 star and only said that there were too many disappointments to mention so that they couldn’t claim that anything was inaccurate but that review has still not been posted. They are only allowing the 5 star reviews to be posted on their website, which is why there are only 3 reviews available! There are a lot of cabins in the Pigeon Forge area – you’d be wise to find one that is not managed by Wyndham!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was great
Liked least: Too much to mention here - see my review.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Dear Don N,

On behalf of the staff, management, and myself, please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. We wish to assure you that this is certainly not our typical guests’ experience. Please accept our apologies for what is not indicative of our service levels and we can assure you that our housekeeping and maintenance departments are taking your feedback seriously. I have followed up with our team and they have informed me that most everything has since been addressed. We always want to exceed your expectations and make your stay a comfortable and relaxing as possible. We hope that you give us the opportunity to show you a much better experience on a future stay.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Dear leecX6621IQ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed the view and I am sorry to hear about the issues that you found in the cabin. I will let the owner know about your comments regarding the dishwasher. Guest feedback is the most important tool that we can use to improve our cabins and I wish to thank you again for taking the time to let us know. We appreciate you choosing to spend your vacation with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blue4Mich...
midwest
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Theatre in the Mountains for a week in April and loved it. Good location, roomy enough for my husband and I along with 4 teenage girls & 2 teenage boys. The teenagers loved the lower level to hangout in and the main floor was comfortable enough for all of us. Plenty of bathrooms for everyone also. Overall it is a very nice place, the barstools in the kitchen need to be fixed or replaced and you can hear through all of the walls, plus there is limited parking available - we had 2 cars so it was ok for us. The views are exceptional especially from the top floor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: The noise.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2015
Dear Blue4Michigan,

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Vacation Rentals. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and also we are happy that you found your cabin had plenty of space to accommodate your family?s needs. I?ve forward your comments regarding the bar stools to our maintenance department so they can address the repairs immediately.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Jeff G.
Area General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Dec 2015
Dear talala750,

We are grateful that you chose to spend your Smoky Mountain getaway with us, and do hope to be able to welcome you, your family and friends back once again to provide you with an exceptional level of service.

Thanks,
Jeff G
Area General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing