We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RiverGate Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area(Pigeon Forge)(Great Value!)
USD 145
USD 123
ClarionHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plaza Inn(Pigeon Forge)(Great Value!)
USD 177
USD 157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites at Dollywood Lane(Pigeon Forge)(Great Value!)
USD 146
USD 139
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn On The River(Pigeon Forge)(Great Value!)
USD 180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 187
USD 167
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites at Dollywood Lane(Pigeon Forge)(Great Value!)
USD 134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 105
USD 100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timbers Lodge(Pigeon Forge)(Great Value!)
USD 138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Christmas Place(Pigeon Forge)
USD 222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
82
12
5
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
12
5
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskart tracksthe riverrooms are sound proofenjoyed our night stayrelaxing getawaycleanest hotelshot tubbedssoundproofedbalconiescleanlinesscarts
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2015

We just needed a getaway for a night and this place was perfect for it! My grandsons just wanted to ride go carts and hang out. No place better than between 2 go cart places... Wonderfully clean! I see so many on here harping on the outdated parts! I thought it had great character. You wouldn't tell folks you spend the night with that their stuff was outdated. It was clean, comfortable and affordable. I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We did not hear anyone else in the hotel at all... Super quiet and just off the main drag!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat & Fred M, Owner at RiverGate Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2015

Thank you so much for such a wonderful sweet review. We do try our hardest to keep our motel nice and clean. When a person has a turnover nightly with different people it is hard but we enjoy our work as my late husband(only 2 months ago passed away) had built the first motel this town ever had. You must see by the years we love people. We are the last of the locally run motels in the area. Only a very few are left as you were very lucky to find one. We try to help you with restaurants and things to do if you want to know. Your boys were swell and I do invite you back to see us anytime. Thank you for your stay. Pat Maples/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We stay here every year for the Shades of the Past Car Show. I have stayed at very expensive hotels when I was working that was not as clean as the RiverGate. The rooms are very quite, the beds comfortable and they even supply extra's such as toothpaste. This hotel's location is just a few hundred feet off the strip so it's close enough to walk to many restaurants and attractions. I disagree with the the other comments about the rooms being "dated". Our room was tastefully decorated and had very comfortable chairs on the balcony overlooking the stream.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat & Fred M, Owner at RiverGate Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dave staurt, Thank you for your nice review. I enjoyed having you with me again this year. Even though Freddie has passed and no longer with us I know his spirit still lingers on as he loved to know all you car show guest were coming back. Have a good winter and I hope to see you next year. Thanks Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Very good location. Right in the heart of Pigeon Forge. The room was very dated. The beds are uncomfortable. When one turns over you wake the other. The air conditioner made a lot of noise. When it geared up it shook the walls. The bedspread was very heavy. WiFi was barely there. Got slower and slower. The toilet was tiny. It was so close to the floor. It was like a pottie. The tub however was nice. It was a nice large size. Always had hot water! That's a plus.

Room Tip: In the heart of Pigeon Forge.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat & Fred M, Owner at RiverGate Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

dear kk. I see where your reservations were made on bookings so that tells me you had never stayed before with us. We have a motel full of regular customers who return year after year because they know we are one of the cleanest motels here. I wish I knew what you meant by dated , as our carpet is brand new and the mattresses are double pillow tops from Hickory, NC. We get so many people who love them but I would agree anywhere you go you cannot take your own mattress with you. Each person is very different some love and some hate in the motel business it is the hardest to please. Our toliets are regular ones except for the handicap ones so I do not know how to remedy a high or low one for each person but you will agree they were clean. We get a 100 from the state for cleanliness. As for Wifi I just had it checked and the repairman said it would have a lot to do with a customers own phone or laptop. I agree some can get Wifi greatly and some has trouble so I suppose they will all over town unless a motel is hard wired like some of the brand new hotels which cost about 300.00 per night. We always enjoy having people stay with us and I do hope you will return to Pigeon Forge some time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, we had a king room with our own hottub in the room. The room was clean and neat. Decor was outdated. Biggest problem was that the Internet didn't work. Bed was comfortable, good size room

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank farley256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat & Fred M, Owner at RiverGate Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

Mr. Farley, thank you for your business. We appreciate having you stay with us. I surely wish I knew what was meant by dated. The carpet is brand new and the levelor blinds have just went up. Most people love the 3 rooms on top over the river. I don't know of anyone in town who would put the nice auto levelor blinds in a motel room. People seem to love them because they are blackouts and sleep is very peaceful. I am so glad you enjoyed the Large Jacuzzis. Most of the ones in town will accomodate only one person. You were very nice people and we enjoyed having you. Please come back for a visit sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We checked in on the 2nd of July and met the owner Pat at check- in. She is a very nice person. Our room was very clean. You would had think that being located in front of a go kart track would be noisy, but it was not. The room is very soundproof. I would recommend this hotel to everybody. I will be staying here again! Thank you Pat!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat & Fred M, Owner at RiverGate Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Thank you so much for staying with us. You were wonderful customers. It was a joy to meet you and have you spend your vacation with us. We strive so hard to keep our rooms nice and clean and so many doesn't take the time to tell us how much they appreciate our work so thank you again and do come visit us again anytime we always enjoying seeing you guest again. Thank you for your nice review that helps in telling other people about us. We are the hidden gem others doesn't know about us hidden back over the river. Pat Maples/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews