We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but no place to sit”
Review of Jack's Bar-B-Que

Jack's Bar-B-Que
Ranked #60 of 2,040 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Multi Level Dining and Patio facing the Historic Ryman Auditorium Event Seating in our Nashville Room Located in the heart of Lower Broadway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food but no place to sit”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

If you wantva nice place don't go here it's essentially a cafeteria line. Pork is good. Ribs are dry. Sides are just ok. I'm not sorry we went but wish I had known it was kindm of a hole in the wall.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iberostarnightmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,243
    912
    420
    115
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Busy and very good”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Line out the door at 7PM. The pace through the line in good balance with seating. Congenial fun atmosphere. Noisy as any good party should be. A beer list and combo plate rules in advance would be good (e.g. 3 meat choices can't include 2 servings of ribs). I WILL eat here again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“True Bar-B-Que Sampler”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The place to try BBQ in Nashville.

The menu is simple - pick your meat combination (Choices: ribs, brisket, chicken, turkey, sausage, pulled pork),
pick your sides (from a short list),
pay your money.
Then, take a seat and eat.

The sauces are in dispensers after you pay, and you get a selection here, too -
Tennessee (vinegar based),
Carolina (mustard based),
Texas (tomato based),
Kansas City (smoky),
XXX-911 (a spiced up mix of TN & TX), and
Music City White Sauce (horseradish base).

When we went, the meats were tender, and the sauces (at least some) were heavenly. A delicious experience, but I understand it can vary, depending on your taste in meat and sauce.

Just be prepared - it's a self-service cafeteria-like set-up, and you may have a long line to get to the meat. We had great food, but give it only a 4, not 5 rating, because of the extreme bare-bones nature of the amenities and the self-service style.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

So fantastic and delicious, we ate there twice during a weekend visit!! Go for the brisket! Be prepared to wait in line...no matter what time!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank heatherm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only ok”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

There seems to be a lot of hype over Jacks but to be honest, we have had better BBQ at home in Maryland. The meat seemed dry and the man behind the counter seemed impatient that we didn't know what we wanted right away and that we asked him questions. I wish we had gone elsewhere for our only dinner in Nashville.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kmarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
Nashville, Davidson County
 
Nashville, Davidson County
 

Been to Jack's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing