We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hutton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hutton Hotel
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Nice but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The service was excellent and the parking convenient. It was possible to either valet your car or park it yourself in the attached garage (for a fee, of course). The room was nicely appointed and generally quiet although the air conditioning was rather loud when it came on and it came on quite frequently. The hotel seems to be a refurbished older hotel, and the area around it and its exterior do not provide a good impression. Both seem rather run down. The rugs in the corridors on the individual floors, especially by the elevators, and in the walkway to the garage, were also dirty. If this hotel wants to fashion itself a boutique hotel, dirty rugs should not be a feature. The worst thing was the hotel restaurant. We went there for dinner the night of our arrival and waited what seemed like forever for our appetizers and main courses. The food was very tasty when it finally came, but we could not believe how long it took for the food to arrive. I am torn about this hotel. I guess my final assessment would be that it seems to want to be a boutique hotel, but it can't quite live up to that designation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    388
    106
    54
    30
See reviews for
226
636
79
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This is a boutique type hotel so the rooms are small. The bathroom is the best. ..Molton Browm toiletries. I stay here each time I am in Nashville. I only gave it 4 stars this time as housekeeping was very slow during my recent stay. No "turn down service" (always had it before) and had to call to have the rooms cleaned twice. Will still stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator are less noisy but beware the walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

Perfect location with walking proximity to Downtown, the Gulch and Vanderbilt. The service was extremely helpful and polite, especially Molly the concierge. Clearly a southern belle who steared us to all the quality dining, drinking and music establishments. You have experience bluegrass at the Station Inn!
The trip wa soured at the end when we experienced damage to our car from the valet garage which we are still haggling with the hotel and their insurance. Would probably go back again though.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank creightonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This Nashville property is wonderful. I stayed there last week with a group of 10 family members in town for my nephew's graduation from Vanderbilt. Although the hotel is a 15 minute walk from campus it is definitely worth the walk (or cab ride) as the hotel is excellent. From the minute you arrive and the bellman takes your bags you know this hotel prides itself on great service. Check-in at the two desks in front is a pleasure: so nice after a long trip to sit down and be helped! Rooms are modern, fresh and clean with upscale toiletries, robes and slippers and flat screen tv's. We stayed in a king suite which was not cheap but since there were three of us we really appreciated the double sink which had plenty of room for toiletries, hair dryers, curling irons etc. I had breakfast in the restaurant downstairs and it was fine. I also had a great bloody mary at the bar! We walked to "The Gulch," an up and coming neighborhood that is popular with students. Check out "Two Old Hippies" a great shop and Sambuca for dinner/drinks/live music/outdoor dining.

Room Tip: Others on this board recommend high floor-we were on 15 but it was a bit of a pain as the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

just stayed at the hotel for Vanderbilt graduation. Had a suite but rooms are very small. No drawers so no place to put clothes- Had to live out of our suitcases for 3 days. Had "turn down service" the first night but nothing the other 2 nights. No clothes hangers in the second closet. mattress was very uncomfortable.Think the hotel is overpriced for what you get--prides itself on service but we were dissapointed

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPANashville, General Manager at Hutton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Sam R,
I would like to apologize for the service you received while our guest. Please be assured this is unacceptable and I will be following up with our Director of Housekeeping to ensure this does not occur in the future.

I certainly appreciate your comments about our guest rooms and I am certain we have a room that you would enjoy. Please contact myself on your next visit to Music City so that i can ensure you receive a great room.

Sincerely,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel
#9 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Omni Nashville Hotel
#6 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
Hotel Indigo Nashville
#25 of 156 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#15 of 156 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutton Hotel

Property: Hutton Hotel
Address: 1808 West End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#4 Business Hotel in Nashville
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#12 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price range (per night): $276 - $631
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hutton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hutton Hotel redefines Southern luxury with unparalleled service and elegant, contemporary design. Nashville’s only Four-Star property is a member of Leading Hotels of the World, and has been named to Travel + Leisure’s T+L 500, Travel + Leisure’s World’s Best, and the Conde Nast Traveler Hot List. Nestled in the heart of popular midtown, the hotel blends effortless access to attractions, businesses, and nightlife with gracious hospitality and thoughtful service. Guest rooms are appointed for refined comfort and modern convenience with flat-screen TVs, media hubs and rain showerheads. We offer multiple room types, including suites and unique Cardio Kings, equipped with in-room elliptical machines. Hutton Hotel is also nationally recognized for its innovative green initiatives, examples of which you find all the way from your guest room to the parking garage. Service is our first priority, and, from housekeeping to concierge, our staff is pleased to assist with any need. A few additional comforts you’ll find at the Hutton included complimentary manager’s wine reception Monday – Thursday, 5pm—6pm; a Tesla Model S all electric courtesy vehicle available for destinations within a 3-mile radius of the property; a state-of-the art fitness center; and complimentary Nespresso machines on every guest floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Hutton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hutton Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing