We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Belle Meade Plantation
from USD 24.00
More Info
from USD 79.00
More Info
Reviews (4,260)
Filter reviews
4,260 results
Traveller rating
2,798
1,141
258
50
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,798
1,141
258
50
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting mansion tour carriage house horse breeding harding house thoroughbred horses blackberry pie beautiful grounds gift shop family history period costume the main house civil war great tour decorated for christmas slave quarters lots of history
Filter
Updating list...
893 - 898 of 4,260 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We decided to stay an extra day in Nashville area to avoid bad weather up north. Found Belle Meade through reviews on TripAdvisor. It exceeded our expectations! Wonderful property that appeared to be fully restored, though we understand they are still working on it. The costumed guides did a great job explaining the history of the place, and we could see they are making an effort to tell the stories not only of the white Plantation owning families, but also of their enslaved African American workers. Lots of horse racing history as well. The restaurant food was great, and there was also a small shop that sells ice cream and chocolates. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would highly recommend Belle Meade!

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We took the Plantation house tour and we were lucky enough to get Jesse the Curator and he gave wonderful information in a perfect storytelling way. The tour we took had a large attendance including children and he was terrific in answering their questions as well. Everyone at Belle Meade was friendly and helpful. Worth the money!

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 506terrih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

For many historical places access via wheelchair is not an option. They have a ramp to the first floor attractions which is much of the tour. The outside paths are small gravel or concrete so also ok for a higher level wheelchair user. The wine tasting is very brief and hurried, they really could improve on this aspect. The museum does a good job including the enslaved workers as part of the story and is attempting to gather the history of the workers that made the plantation successful .

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This house and family has a very interesting history. You could say it's the birthplace of horse breeding in the south (you're welcome, Kentucky). The guide was very knowledgeable and the house is full of period art, furniture and fixtures. There is also a winery on the property and at the end of the tour you can sample some of their vintages.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We had a great time! Our guide was very nice and knowledgeable. She did a great job explaining each wine and why each food was paired with it. She showed us how to tell the acidity level of the wine, how to smell and taste it. We bought 6 bottles of wine here :)

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews