We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs Browns”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rutherglen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Rutherglen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Our group of 12 dined at Mrs Browns in September 2011. The dining room used to be the billiard room of the historic Victoria hotel in Rutherglen. and has been well restored by the owners
Our host Sarah looked after us very well and the food and wine was excellent. Even for a group of 12 the service was prompt and efficient.
Although not staying in the hotel Sarah and her husband Sean put themselves out to open earlier next morning (Father's Day) to provide a cooked breakfast for the 12 of us and again the food was excellent.
I would highly recommend Mrs Browns as an ideal eating place if staying in Rutherglen and certainly our group unanimously agreed to return next year on our annual trip

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

Three couples stayed at the Victoria Hotel for the special... of stay and dine Saturday night at the hotel for a four course meal with matching wines....we also got complimentary vouchers to use on our three hour winery tour....this meant we didn't have to pay extra for tastings...we all enjoyed our stay.....due to the country hospitality of the hotel staff and managers and good quality of food and wine....the accommodation was comfortable and being in the centre of Rutherglen everything was in easy walking distance....the whole town from the supermarket, to the clothes stores, to the coffee shops and bakeries all offered friendly service....We enjoyed it so much we are hoping to make it an annual event.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I really enjoyed the fat chips and Lamb Backstrap at 'Mrs Browns'

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudgarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Pictures on the website bear no resemblance to room my wife and I stayed in, room 3 at the front of the hotel with ensuite. Lady at checkin in bar was very unfriendly but gentleman on premises was friendly. The heating in the room consisted of a small old wall heater, bed was old, no spare blankets, no cups, no milk, dusty candle in fireplace but no candles, louvres in ensuite falling off, ensuite freezing, skylight full of cobwebs. We asked for cups and milk and these were reluctantly supplied. Appears to be no real attempt to maintain or refurbish the hotel beyond the main dining rooms. Rooms do not have TV's which would normally not be a problem but guest lounge was locked at 9:00pm when we returned to hotel. My wife searched for someone to unlock the lounge but the hotel was completely deserted. Similarly at checkout the next morning there was no one to be found to take our room key. Rear parking is not lit at all. Overall a very disappointing experience and a waste of money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shadou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutherglenvignette, Owner at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Obviously, we are very disappointed we did not meet with guest expectations. We have taken steps in an effort to rectify this.

Kind regards

Sarah & Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I was the organiser of a group of 32 at a conference in Rutherglen and needed another restaurant rather than where we were staying. We had a choice of three entrees, mains and desserts all good pub food. There was a great spontaneous sing-a-long, great amateur vocalists and lots of fun. Super staff who look after you very well.
We did not stay so I cannot comment on the accommodation. Jo D

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDMA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rutherglen hotels
0.6 km away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#4 of 6 in Rutherglen
172 reviews
0.1 km away
The Star Hotel Rutherglen
The Star Hotel Rutherglen
#7 of 13 in Rutherglen
30 reviews
0.5 km away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Poacher's Paradise Motel
Poacher's Paradise Motel
#3 of 6 in Rutherglen
102 reviews
0.5 km away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
194 reviews
0.8 km away
Rutherglen Motor Inn
Rutherglen Motor Inn
#6 of 6 in Rutherglen
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 90 Main St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rutherglen
Price Range: $119 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Victoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Heritage listed building has changed little over the past 140 years and is currently being renovated to reflect its former grandeur. Think lofty ceilings, open fireplaces, gracious verandas, beautiful stained glass windows and a traditional Australian front bar with tap and boutique beers and an impressive list of wines. We offer accommodation, an award winning cycle concierge service and quality pub dining as well as more upmarket dining offer in the newly renovated dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Victoria Hotel Rutherglen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing