We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poacher's Paradise Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stopped at the Poacher's Paradise Hotel on our way down to Geelong for the World Road Cycling Championships. We hadn't booked and were recommended by the Tourist Information Centre.

The location was great as it was in the centre of town and attached to a Pub. We have a 3 month old so we were able to walk to the bistro with her asleep in the pram and have a lovely dinner out which is something we had not done since she was born, and the food was delicious!

We will definitely stay there again if our travels take us down south again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan_Ncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Poacher's Paradise Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed for two nights in this motel, and found it to be spacious, clean and comfortable. At $102 a night ( an extra $23 if you used the spa), it seemed to be good value. The owners were very pleasant and enjoying their tree change from Melbourne. We did not eat in the Hotel attached, but it always seemed busy with reasonable prices. It is located right in the middle of Rutherglen, and in easy walking distance of the Tuileries restaurant in which we ate both nights, once in the main restaurant and once in the Italian style cafe. Both were good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auscantrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

The meal was just okay, as far as a pub meal goes. That is if you don't mind the Chicken Kiev being one of the frozen ones you can buy at the supermarket and put in the oven yourself. I have eaten at other pubs, and they make thier own, so I guess I was expecting the same. I have had worse pub meals, but I have also had better. It was nice and close to the caravan park and the happy hour on Friday would be great for the big drinkers.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mandp141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We attempted to stay it this hotel, however the our booking was cancelled by the hotel. We 'booked' the hotel for a long weekend on the hotel's own site. The site required a two night booking, which we made. However a day or so later, after we'd made the rest of our travel plans, the hotel informed us that they wouldn't accept our two day booking - they had a minimum three night booking over long weekends. At no stage was this requirement stated at any point in the hotel's information. Although I can appreciate their desire to make money, I think this behaviour is pretty unprofessional.
Anyway, a number of phone calls later,we're now staying elsewhere and wanted to warn other potential visitors of the risks of attempting to book the Poacher's Paradise Hotel/Motel.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank traveltimeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ytmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherglen
0.5 km away
Tuileries
Tuileries
#4 of 6 in Rutherglen
166 reviews
36.0 km away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
0.3 km away
Wine Village Motor Inn
Wine Village Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Rutherglen
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Motel Woongarra
Motel Woongarra
#2 of 6 in Rutherglen
188 reviews
0.6 km away
Rutherglen Motor Inn
Rutherglen Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Rutherglen
52 reviews
0.7 km away
Walkabout Motel
Walkabout Motel
#6 of 6 in Rutherglen
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poacher's Paradise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poacher's Paradise Motel

Address: 97 Murray St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Price Range: $114 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Poacher's Paradise Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Poacher's Paradise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poacher's Paradise Motel Rutherglen, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing