We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INTERESTING”
Review of The Long Table - CLOSED

The Long Table
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 21 - USD 26
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Loved the place. A bit cold heating could have been a bit warmer. atmosphere great.
staff took a while to take our order but otherwise fantastic could improve wine selection tend to only sell local produce no New Zealand wines

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KITTEN0072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha F, Owner at The Long Table, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hi there, and thank you for your feedback. We here at The Long Table have always prided ourselves as being seasonal, regional and local. As such we proudly only stock local and Victorian wines, showcasing what our incredible wine region has to offer. It is the same in our kitchen, keeping to seasonal and local products keeps our ingredients fresh and our carbon footprint low.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

I found myself tend to stay away from well known restaurants, often they run by some self indulged chef far too absorbed in their own creation.
Have heard of this restaurant for many years, finally went there with my husband during a weekend away at Red Hill. Well have to admit this one deserved its great reputation, better than most of those prominent local winery restaurants.
Loved Taramasalata dip, was tasty & creamy, this is not normnally something my husband would like but he loved it, our shared roast Lamb shoulder, crispy potatoes & green salad with warnuts & pear were superb, cant fault them at all, not to mention friendly staff provided good service.
We loved it, will definitely go back.

Thank shtarker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha F, Owner at The Long Table, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hi shtarker, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us over the weekend and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

After a good hour's drive we were looking forward to experiencing a satisfying Sunday lunch.

Situated in Red Hill Village we entered a rustic environment with lots of timber; floors, tables & chairs. Around 1.30pm it was not completely filled & we decided to share the roasted lamb shoulder which melted into whipped feta, cucumber & mint, accompanied with winter leaf, walnut & pear salad....

The 2015 Quealy 'Tussie Mussie' Pino Gris was light & fruity & the House Cab Sav was also enjoyable.

Unable to decide on which dessert we ordered both the fromage frais sorbet, rhubarb, blueberry & basil ..... sorbet with a hint of cheese & basil, was certainly an interesting mix of refreshing flavours.

The white chocolate, blood orange & elderflower was rich but not sickly.....balanced nicely by the sharp tartness of blood orange ....

Creative mix of flavours & textures.

Together with Hepburn mineral water & 2 coffees came to $135 for two.

Service was warm & friendly. Lovely way to enjoy a warm sunny spring Sunday.

Thank Viviann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha F, Owner at The Long Table, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Hi Viviann, I am so pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us here at The Long Table. Yes the lamb is indeed melt in the mouth as it is slow cooked, over night for 12hrs! it is in fact a staff favourite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Nice food in a nice atmosphere. The restaurant service and food is good. We went here while visiting Red Hill. We had wagu beef. The beef was delicious and served with some vegetables.

Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Had a great day the food was great and the staff were awesome. Would come back again. Lovely atmosphere.

Thank Jared K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha F, Manager at The Long Table, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi Jared, we very much enjoyed hosting your parents joint birthday party and look forward to having you dine with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Long Table also viewed

Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
Main Ridge, Mornington Peninsula
 
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
Red Hill, Mornington Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing