We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queenscliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Queenscliff Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We ate very very well when having dinner one night at the Queennscliff Hotel when visiting ovet the new year period

The pork belly was at good as had anywhere

Service also good. Special mention to young guy John for his work on the floor.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tim2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    14
    15
    10
    15
See reviews for
10
35
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We had a weekend to celebrate a friends 50th. The dinner party of 35 people was booked in the same restaurant. There are still fantastic touches of the grand old days, and there is no doubt the building and rooms are of historic significance. That's what we liked. the service at breakfast was also exceptional, as there was genuine warm conversation.

Dislikes: Overall service and room standard is very disappointing. There is no air of hospitality or celebration, this is a place that is run purely to give people a bed for the night. Rooms are creaky, there is no facility for tea and coffee, and when asked for tea at the bar, not only were we charged, we were also given the impression that requesting this at 5,30pm on Saturday evening is very inconvenient.

Common areas were musty and unlived in. Not a place to linger or share a cozy drink. A 12 midnight when the dinner party disbanded, a few of us were keen to stay on for a chat and drink but the bar was compleletly closed, and no offer for any lights or facilities for us in the front rooms.

Generally we would not mind older places, with some signs of wear and tear, however, it appears that Queenscliff hotel has now just lost all of it's edge, and there are no remnants of the Mietta days.

Would not be going back.

Room Tip: Aything less than standard is small and pokey
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenscliff hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Having read some of the tripadvisor reviews, we almost didn't book the Queenscliff Hotel - we decided at the last minute to risk it. And what a good decision. After a delightful bike ride from Geelong, we walked into the glorious foyer, and within minutes it was clear it would be a lovely place to stay. The building itself is wonderful (is there a more beautiful entrance in such an affordable hotel in the state?), the location is great, Queencliff is beautiful, and the staff were hospitable and solicitous - eg we hadn't let them know we were coming by bike, but they quickly gave us somewhere to park them. And we had a great dinner - the service is relaxed, but the food was good, and hey, this isn't Melbourne's CBD, so what's the rush?

Bemused by the angsty reviews, we've decided they must be by regulars who want to scare the rest of us away.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We paid for through the nose for our daughter to have at last, the best day of her life for her wedding. We as parents got a room overlooking nextdoors roof with a smelly blocked sink. Calling the staff produced an over the top snotty employee who apparently as we found out later was the owner/manager!

He wiggled a brush about the ---- did not go away and it still smelt --- awful, it was evidently too beneath him to supply a service and therefore we had to lump it and except it. The wedding was more of a Whitehall farce with music played at the wrong place and the wrong time and after the whole evening I felt that I could have demolished a big Mac.

The service, the wedding breakfast and the whole do was not worth what we paid and I did not find out the price until after we left as my wife thought I might take it out on the objectionable little runt. I had wanted to change hotels prior to the do but I did not wish to upset my wife!

A very sorry experience of Australia and am not persuaded that others are necessarily different. I am not returning!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank usandthem36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide hills
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We arrived at the hotel to be met by the owner., Johann. He was very hospitable and upgraded us to a beautiful room at the front of the hotel with a balcony and ensuite bathroom. The room was very clean and full of beautiful old furniture. The restaurant was closed so we had a very enjoyable meal at Lombardi's in the main street . We returned to the hotel to enjoy a quiet evening in the library where a fire had been lit for our return. Breakfast was served overlooking the rear courtyard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return. The hotel has a grandness and old world charm that is rarely found these days and we would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmacAdelaideHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
0.2 km away
Vue Grand
Vue Grand
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
4.9 km away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
3.4 km away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Rubys Queenscliff
Rubys Queenscliff
#3 of 8 in Queenscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 km away
The Queenscliff Inn
The Queenscliff Inn
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.4 km away
Seaview House
Seaview House
#2 of 8 in Queenscliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queenscliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queenscliff Hotel

Property: The Queenscliff Hotel
Address: 16 Gellibrand St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Queenscliff
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queenscliff Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Queenscliff Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing