We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay by the Bay !”
Review of Athelstane House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athelstane House
Ranked #1 of 9 Queenscliff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Having enjoyed meals at Athlestane House we finally got ourselves organised for a two night mid week stay. Why have we not done this sooner ? Check in was easy and efficient. Lovely balcony room looking onto Hobson Street. Balcony area had a small table and chairs and two lounges. Perfect for afternoon drinks and catching up on some relaxing reading. We decided to have dinner at the hotel restaurant. As it was a nice balmy evening we chose the lovely courtyard. A delightful setting with a grapevine covered pergola and festive lighting giving a pleasant ambience. Please see our attached photo.

Our meal was excellent. We shared the spiced calamari and the ricotta stuffed zuchini flowers for entree. Main course was the twice cooked pork belly and ricotta & parmesan dumplings. I am wary of food that is cooked more than once but in this case the pork belly was excellent. Nicely cooked, moist with crunchy crackling. Bliss ! My partner very much enjoyed the dumplings.

For dessert we had the chef's cassata special. Not served in the traditional wedge style but excellent flavour.

All enjoyed with a rose wine.

All staff are bright and helpful. A comprehensive breakfast is also included in the tariff.

Midday check out time is very much appreciated.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Stanley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel H, Owner at Athelstane House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Hi Stanley F,
We're so glad you finally got to enjoy the guesthouse after dining in our restaurant in the past. Thank you for your kind words in regards to the room and our restaurant (we're glad you decided to dine in with us again too!).
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards, Laurel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Athelstane House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017

We arrived at Athelstane House in ivery upmarket Queenscliffe. We parked the car under a shady tree. We were greeted by genuine smiles everywhere. The room was breathtaking with very spacious and beautifully decorated interior. 2 sets of French doors led to a balcony overlooking the street. It was furnished with very comfortable and relaxing outdoor seating. We walked around the town which is so delightful and found the harbour with the ferry to Sorrento.
We dined in. Did we wait countless minutes for the food? No speed, efficiency, unique tastes and presentation satisfied both our taste buds and our hungry eyes.
Breakfast was a spontaneous decision to have it on the balcony and the tray appeared once again magically.
We travelled on the ferry to Sorrento which has an extensive shopping centre.
That night we decided to dine in again, sitting outdoors under the grapes laden vines. Great decision. The vegetarian dish was Masterchef quality.
Athelstane House deserves a medal for unique decor, genuine country people interaction with city sophisticated meals

Room Tip: King room offers the addition of the balcony
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marinaaC4457PY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel H, Owner at Athelstane House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Hello marinaaC4457PY,
Thanks for your outstanding review of Athelstane House, we're so thrilled to hear you enjoyed every element of your stay with us. It was a real pleasure hosting you for your Queenscliff getaway!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Till then! Kind regards, Laurel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Our one night stay here was perfect, which we could have stayed for longer. Such a quaint and charming hotel. Rooms were clean, perfectly decorated and accompanied with a spa bath. Staff were amazing, extremely helpful and polite. Although we didn't have dinner here, the breakfast was amazing in the outdoor area, lovely and relaxing.
I would definitely come back here and maybe book a balcony suite.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MaharaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel H, Owner at Athelstane House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Hi MaharaJane,
Thanks for your wonderful review of Athelstane, we're so glad to hear that you'll be visiting us again soon! We look forward to seeing you.
Kind regards, Laurel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and wished we could have stayed for more. What charming atmospheric hotel. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a delicious dinner out on the deck. A real standout on our trip to Victoria.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel H, Owner at Athelstane House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hello Gail P,
Thanks for your outstanding review of Athelstane House, we're glad we could host you on your trip to Victoria, it was a pleasure! We hope to see you again on your next trip south!
Kind regards, Laurel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Our stay here was thoroughly enjoyed. The room with balcony, room 5, with spa bath was lovely. We enjoyed using the various outdoor and indoor seating areas with t2 tea available at any time. Our dinner was excellent...the pork belly so tender. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had bought some cheeses on our trip and they were happy to store for us. Breakfast was excellent too. No hesitation in recommending.



Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank teacher334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel H, Owner at Athelstane House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Hi teacher334,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Athelstane House, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay in our Balcony Room and were made to feel at home by our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards, Laurel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenscliff
0.1 km away
Vue Grand Hotel
Vue Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Queenscliff
297 reviews
4.8 km away
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Point Lonsdale
116 reviews
10.4 km away
Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Sorrento
#2 of 2 in Sorrento
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Rubys Queenscliff
Rubys Queenscliff
#3 of 9 in Queenscliff
56 reviews
3.3 km away
BIG4 Beacon Resort
BIG4 Beacon Resort
#1 of 3 in Queenscliff
446 reviews
0.3 km away
Seaview House
Seaview House
#2 of 9 in Queenscliff
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Queenscliff

Been to Athelstane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athelstane House

Address: 4 Hobson St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Queenscliff
Price Range: $159 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athelstane House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athelstane House is a unique Heritage Listed property located in the heart of Queenscliff. A stones throw from the beach and main street our 10 room guesthouse has a room to suit every taste and budget. All rooms have en suite bathrooms (8 with double spa baths), split system air conditioning to keep you comfortable on warm days or through the cool of winter and a complimentary a la carte breakfast included in the tariff. Plus, all rooms have a late check out of 12pm, year round! Our onsite restaurant is also open 7 days, year round for dinner from 6pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Athelstane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athelstane House Queenscliff, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing