We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jeroen Scholten
Middelbeers, The Netherlands

Fabulous

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Feb 2023
We stayed for 3 nights over here and we wished we could have stayed longer.
The house is really private and each morning and evening (dusk and dawn) there were a lot of kangaroos, rabbits and deer in front of our house, we loved this.
The retreat itself is really nice. It is spacious, clean and has all the amenities you need (washing machine, dryer, dishwasher etc.)
The terrace in front of the house is great and we loved sitting here watching the wildlife.

If you want to visit or dine in Halls gap you need a car, it isn't doable by foot, but this didn't bother us.
We also got an complimentary wine, which was really appreciated.

I you visit the grampians (and you should because this is one of the gems of southern australia) we recommend to stay over here you won't regret it.
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
3.4 km from Blaze Rock Retreat
3.1 km from Blaze Rock Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
2.2 km from Blaze Rock Retreat
Spa
View of Redman Bluff (Grampians National Park) from Grampians Paradise Camping and Caravan Parkl
10.3 km from Blaze Rock Retreat
Free parking
0.0 km from Blaze Rock Retreat
1.9 km from Blaze Rock Retreat
Free parking
Redgum Log Cottage
2.4 km from Blaze Rock Retreat
Free parking
Four new safari tents, installed Set 2019. The best view in the world!
4.1 km from Blaze Rock Retreat
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pomonal
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
26
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
26
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews halls gap complimentary wine watching the wildlife deer grampians amenities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2021 via mobile

This place is exceptional. Beautiful large villas extremely well set out & great facilities; wood fire, king sized bed, bath in the lounge, kitchenette, BBQ, amazing views with an abundance of wildlife, echidna on arrival, kangaroos, emus, deer & so many beautiful birds. It’s a great place to wind down & relax. Absolute pleasure to stay here!

Room tip: Take food, cook for yourself & don’t leave!
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KimG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2020

Just returned from a fabulous 3 night stay at Blaze Rock Retreat. Very secluded and quiet and just what we were after in a city getaway. Ample wood provided to keep the wood burner going to keep us warm during the cold days and nights in winter. Also a split system air conditioner for those not keen on fires or for cooling in the summer. It's an easy drive into Halls Gap for supplies, morning coffee's and to enjoy the lovely walks and sight seeing nearby. We enjoyed sunny afternoon sunsets on the side deck while watching kangaroos and wild emus graving in the paddock, then spectacular star gazing at night. The unit has everything you need for a self contained stay. We cooked 2 evenings and enjoyed a very tasty Indian take away from Halls Gap the other. Limited phone coverage and no wifi was a nice change to disconnect, but still enough coverage to get the odd message or email out if you so wished. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice romantic weekend getaway. We'd certainly return and recommend to friends and family. Leanne the host was very easy to deal with and let us extend our stay with a days notice. Several wineries and other farm shops nearby which made for nice stop offs. We thoroughly enjoyed the drive back to Melbourne via Dunkeld and the Victoria Valley road detour - would highly recommend this if you have time and looking for a secluded country drive where you literally won't see another car for miles! We didn't use the TV/DVD player but there was a range of DVDs to watch. We brought our own speaker with pre-downloaded Spotify music but there was an older style CD player there that you could play your CDs on if you still own a CD! We had a great stay, so relaxing!

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 410richb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2020

We had four winter nights in this really lovely spot. Yes, its out of Halls Gap but the privacy and quietness is delicious. The interesting buildings are so well designed and cosy, with everything needed for a self catered experience. The claw foot bath was a joy, and the kitchen worked well. It's chilly in winter but the wood fire and heating was great. Wifi was a walk to the front gate, but that walk included the owners beautiful bush garden, with a huge variety of natives, so wasn't a burden at all. A bottle of red on arrival, and lovely decor touches made this a really special stay. And there were plenty of flowers in the bush too! Great walks a plenty.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jandghubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leanne O, Owner at Blaze Rock Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2020

Thank you for staying with us and enjoying our peaceful retreat. Your feedback on your stay is appreciated. Kind regards. Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2019 via mobile

We had a wonderful two days stay at this little paradise in nature. Watching a colony of kangaroos in the morning and the evening and enjoying the landscape in the bathtub after a good hiking tour. The hosts ver very friendly when a question occurred. Thank you so much!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 633hildal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leanne O, Owner at Blaze Rock Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2020

Thank you for staying with us at Blaze Rock Retreat and your kind review. We appreciate your support.
Kind regards
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2019

With only 2 villas on the property, this retreat is for couples only. Very private and tranquil with deer, kangaroos, emus, rabbits, blue wrens and rosellas in abundance grazing the property. So beautiful to sit up in bed watching the wildlife. A clawfoot bath is central to the room and relaxing in the bath with the views was just idyllic. There is no phone reception on the property so was lovely to be out of touch for the few days we were there. Very well set up villa, clean and very spacious. The complimentary local wine went down well and was an added bonus. Only 7kms from Halls Gap, it was absolutely beautiful and all we wanted in a romantic weekend getaway.

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leanne O, Owner at Blaze Rock Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2019

Thank you Cindy for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the peace and tranquillity of Blaze Rock Retreat.
Kind regards
Leanne Onley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews