We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip down memory lane - 35 years and still FABULOUS”
Review of Cuckoo Restaurant

Cuckoo Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 28 Restaurants in Olinda
Price range: USD 21 - USD 52
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: THE CUCKOO RESTAURANT Wunderbar! Situated in the stunning Dandenong Ranges, just 50 minutes from Melbourne, the Cuckoo is close to popular tourist destinations like Puffing Billy Railway and Healesville Sanctuary. This buzzing 400 seat restaurant offers a delectable smorgasbord in a warm and welcoming family atmosphere. Decorated in the style of a Bavarian chalet and with staff dressed in traditional costume, The Cuckoo has been attracting locals and visitors from all over the world for nearly sixty years. With an abundance of food to satisfy all, the delicious international smorgasbord is prepared by first class chefs and the amazing range of cakes and pastries are made fresh daily. Most dietary needs can be catered for. Live entertainment at each session includes music and a floor show, cow bell ringing and yodelling equal to any in Bavaria The Cuckoo also offers wedding celebrations with receptions planned and staged beautifully with views of the surrounding mountain ash forest. For getaway couples, a family day out or large festive party groups the Cuckoo Restaurant offers the beauty of the Dandenong's, sumptuous and generous meals plus entertaining events throughout the year at very competitive rates. Bookings are essential Open for lunch 7 days a week 11.30am - 3.00pm Dinner Friday, Saturday & Sunday 6.30pm - 11.30pm Afternoon Tea Saturday & Sunday 3.30pm-5.30pm
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Visited the CUCKOO for lunch. My wife and I had our engagement party 35 years ago.
It was such a walk down memory lane .
The atmosphere and food has not changed and is still a great smorgasbord with more options than you could ever eat. From chicken schnitzel to goulash the choices were all delious. You feel as if you have just stepped into grandma kitchen with good hot family meals . The chefs monitor the self serve and the food is kept fresh and hot.
A special shout out to our waitress who was delightful and a credit to the cuckoo team
Staff work hard to service the many overseas tourist buses that stop here with beaming smiles and humour.
If you want to have a lovely lunch in a delightful atmosphere with vistas worth painting of the Australian bush the CUCKOO IS AN AUSTRALIAN NATIONAL TREASURE
Well done CUCKOO TEAM :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DREAMBIG1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 August 2017

Well thank you Very Much for this wonderful review. I will print this review out and put it on the staff room notice board for viewing. It will make everyone's day as positive feedback for our fabulous staff is so motivational and uplifting.

We are a piece of Australian History and very proud of this fact. Next year will be a full 60 years of trading and our dear owner who opened this restaurant with her husband back in 1958, is so proud of everything her restaurant has come to be and what it means to people. She is here most every day to welcome and watch over people to make sure everyone has the best experience possible.
Thank you again for this awesome feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We visited Cuckoo to have lunch on a Sunday. It was a good atmosphere and worth the price that we paid for the food.

The buffet cost $54 per person and I think it has plenty of options. We ate two plates each and my husband also had desserts. Everything is included in that price but drinks. The drinks menu is good and prices are reasonable.

The staff was great and really helpful. I did the booking in the morning and arrived there at 1pm. The restaurant opens at 11:30am and I would recommend go earlier than we did if you are with a group of friends.

They started the entertainment at 1pm and it was really nice. I just would make it bigger so they customers would enjoy more.

I saw on their telly that the place is 100 years old and I loved the pictures and decorations. Definitely, a restaurant which is part of history in Olinda. Also, easy to park and an amazing view around the windows.

Thank lucianar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

I have been to the cuckoo a few times over the last 40 years. Always a bit of fun with friends but this time I found it a bit disappointing. The buffet was small and not really worth the money we paid. It's been a good 10 years since my previous visit and I found the entertainment nowhere near as entertaining as in the past. Not really interested in returning .

4  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We booked for high afternoon tea ☕️ in Easter holidays. Nice ambience, lot of food varieties. You can see lot of wall cuckoo clocks nicely decorated in the restaurant and even they sell these clocks too. They have singer and musicians for entertaining guests, their performances were very good, asked their guests of different nationalities to participate in singing. Overall very nice

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 13cherrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

This is a family place catering in entertainment for kids. Walking in is a great atmosphere but young people don't be fooled, it's no German beer hall or Munich bar.
Cringed at $55 a head buffet. Being used to Melbourne cafe standard of food, the quality at the Cuckoo was poor and not worth the investment. Also the table service was so busy on a Sunday that the staff couldn't even offer a glass of water. Note: table service is the only way you can get a drink.
A positive, the staff were all really nice.

2  Thank SingBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 August 2017

Hi SingBee and thanks for your feedback and the kinds words about our staff!

No, we don't pretend to be a drinking hall which then attracts heightened security measures coupled with the need for public transport that a city location can offer but is difficult given our location.
This restaurant is for the family for all ages with a warm inviting atmosphere - of which you noted. Not sure what you were expecting but if it was beer swilling and leering then the beer halls are for you as WE do not pretend to cater to that type of demand from this demographic. Our restaurant must appeal to all ages AND it does.
The $55 amount for food is all courses included with unlimited - All you can eat policy. This coupled with a floor show and entertainment for a Sunday afternoon is WHY the place was so busy even though you did not think the food was worth much and too expensive. How much does it cost usually for an entree, main, dessert as many times as you want else where? And as to the quality of the food - we are sorry you didn't like what was offered. Thankfully many, many people disagree!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cuckoo Restaurant also viewed

 
Olinda, Victoria
Sassafras, Victoria
 

Been to Cuckoo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing