We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant 👌”
Review of Cuckoo Restaurant

Cuckoo Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Olinda
Price range: USD 21 - USD 50
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: THE CUCKOO RESTAURANT Wunderbar! Situated in the stunning Dandenong Ranges, just 50 minutes from Melbourne, the Cuckoo is close to popular tourist destinations like Puffing Billy Railway and Healesville Sanctuary. This buzzing 400 seat restaurant offers a delectable smorgasbord in a warm and welcoming family atmosphere. Decorated in the style of a Bavarian chalet and with staff dressed in traditional costume, The Cuckoo has been attracting locals and visitors from all over the world for nearly sixty years. With an abundance of food to satisfy all, the delicious international smorgasbord is prepared by first class chefs and the amazing range of cakes and pastries are made fresh daily. Most dietary needs can be catered for. Live entertainment at each session includes music and a floor show, cow bell ringing and yodelling equal to any in Bavaria The Cuckoo also offers wedding celebrations with receptions planned and staged beautifully with views of the surrounding mountain ash forest. For getaway couples, a family day out or large festive party groups the Cuckoo Restaurant offers the beauty of the Dandenong's, sumptuous and generous meals plus entertaining events throughout the year at very competitive rates. Bookings are essential Open for lunch 7 days a week 11.30am - 3.00pm Dinner Friday, Saturday & Sunday 6.30pm - 11.30pm Afternoon Tea Saturday & Sunday 3.30pm-5.30pm
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We booked for high afternoon tea ☕️ in Easter holidays. Nice ambience, lot of food varieties. You can see lot of wall cuckoo clocks nicely decorated in the restaurant and even they sell these clocks too. They have singer and musicians for entertaining guests, their performances were very good, asked their guests of different nationalities to participate in singing. Overall very nice

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 13cherrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

This is a family place catering in entertainment for kids. Walking in is a great atmosphere but young people don't be fooled, it's no German beer hall or Munich bar.
Cringed at $55 a head buffet. Being used to Melbourne cafe standard of food, the quality at the Cuckoo was poor and not worth the investment. Also the table service was so busy on a Sunday that the staff couldn't even offer a glass of water. Note: table service is the only way you can get a drink.
A positive, the staff were all really nice.

2  Thank SingBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 August 2017

Hi SingBee and thanks for your feedback and the kinds words about our staff!

No, we don't pretend to be a drinking hall which then attracts heightened security measures coupled with the need for public transport that a city location can offer but is difficult given our location.
This restaurant is for the family for all ages with a warm inviting atmosphere - of which you noted. Not sure what you were expecting but if it was beer swilling and leering then the beer halls are for you as WE do not pretend to cater to that type of demand from this demographic. Our restaurant must appeal to all ages AND it does.
The $55 amount for food is all courses included with unlimited - All you can eat policy. This coupled with a floor show and entertainment for a Sunday afternoon is WHY the place was so busy even though you did not think the food was worth much and too expensive. How much does it cost usually for an entree, main, dessert as many times as you want else where? And as to the quality of the food - we are sorry you didn't like what was offered. Thankfully many, many people disagree!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We always as a family have been to The Cuckoo for various events in our lives.

We have enjoyed their food and entertainment as well.

We didn't know what to expect as now eating habits have changed so much.

We were shown to our table by the window, as daughter requested and it was not long before we had to eat, of course there is a line, but used to that so many times before.
A lady suggested we try the other buffet area which we did and hardly any there.

Needless to say we filled our plates to overflowing with delicious food, some of past eras and of course some to cater for the new cuisine people.

Whatever, to us we could find no fault. Piping hot, tasty, great variety and we all so pleased to see some of our favourites.

We had a glass of champagne, daughter and I were mothers, but our grand adults were given some too, much to their delight.

Our eyes were too big for our tummies, so had to rest for a while, before we chose desserts. So many to choose from, mine are cheesecake and lemon meringue pie so of course they were on my plate, but young ones can eat a lot more sweets.

So after their tastings, I asked which was best, after discussion, none could be reached, they were all good. Oh and the ice cream of course!

We had the Bavarian entertainment, bringing all the children to the front, which we thought was a nice touch, they had a lovely lady leading them around, singing and doing arms movements, such a joy to watch them all.

The ringing bells and of course the yodeller, we can do that a little now. We did the chicken and hokey pokey, yes old as I am we were up there having so much fun together. Singing and dancing. Other tables were singing and lots of photos taken of littlies. A memorable Mother's Day.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 July 2017

Thank you so much for this kind review elinas! We are always thrilled for any feedback but especially when we have satisfied all expectations for our dearest customers.

Mothers Day - as you are well aware, is very busy at the Cuckoo as it is THE busiest day of the year for us on our social calendar. Given this, we strive to provide the best on this day and we thank you for discussing what was offered with such favorable enthusiasm. This is very motivational and pleasing to our staff who work so tirelessly, to give the best to our customers.

We sincerely hope you will be back for our Mothers Day next year as it is going to be a very special one for the Cuckoo. It is our 60th year of trading and our owner who will be 84 years of age, wants to make this even more so.
Thank you again for the awesome review! It means a lot to us here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Food was not up to the standard we had experienced in the past nor was the entertainment.The singers and host in the past, were fantastic. Bell ringing and a Christmas atmosphere was what we expected,The drums we great but not what I would expect in a Restaurant,Santa Claus counted out his sweets, which I thought could at least been a chocolate variety

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Catie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Wow what happened to this place?? Growing up the cuckoo had the best food and amazing atmosphere, and was somewhere we looked forward to going to on a fairly regular basis. It was always full and you'd often have to book over a month in advance.

So I was very excited to find out my wife had booked us in there for a family dinner, having not been for years having moved away from the area.

From the get go I could tell something was different as the place was less than half full and had a different atmosphere.
Despite it not being very busy, it took a long time to get our drink orders taken (we had to go up and find someone to come to our table) and we had finished 2 courses before our drinks were even delivered.

The food was the most disappointing part. There was literally nothing German on there. Gone were all of the delicious choices from the past, and the advertised food on their website (including seafood) was nowhere to be seen. Selections included things that were very non German like Yorkshire puddings, roast ham, rissoles and so on. The vegetables appeared to be from a frozen packet, the roasts very dry and tough and to top it all off they kept running out of things making the fairly poor selection even worse. Deserts at least included "Black Forrest cake" amongst the green jelly and bread and butter puddings, however the cakes all tasted like Sarah Lee packet cakes or something. All in all the food felt like we were in a cheap Food Star and was very unsatisfying. When we asked a waitress where the German food was she just laughed and told us there was new management. I can't stress enough how amazing the food used to be here and how disappointing it is now.

The drinks, when they eventually came, were at least excellent as they've kept a great selection of German and other beers, wines and spirits.

The entertainment was a bit better than the food but still felt a bit tired. In the past the atmosphere felt very much like you were in a German beer hall and was very lively with special shows like Yodellers with crowd participation and Bavarian Schuhplatter dancing. None of this was present now.

Unfortunately I wouldn't recommend this place anymore which is quite sad given how much I would rave about it to people in the past. If you want a good German/European meal try somewhere like Fika Weinstuble in Mornington or the Hofbrauhaus in Market Lane.

4  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cuckoo Restaurant also viewed

Olinda, Victoria

Been to Cuckoo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing