We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Froth”
Review of Olinda Cafe

Olinda Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Quick Bites in Olinda
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

My sister and I first went in for a much needed coffee after a busy day. It was late in the day but luckily we were still able to order our coffee.
We both commented on how amazing the froth was 😋 as well as the coffee being one of the best.
Next time we'll enjoy a meal as well.
Thank you.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank saffy1870
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2019

I'm not a big pie eater but as it was way past my lunchtime feed, I was ravenous and picked the lamb and rosemary pie as I adore lamb. Accompanied by delicious beer-battered chips and a mixed salad, this was a substantial meal but I managed to clear the plate on a cold winters day. My eyes were bigger than my stomach and I ordered the scones, jam and cream as a take-out for tea at home, later. I'm not sorry as it was delicious. I'll worry about my figure from Monday, this was my Sunday treat. Friendly service ticks another box.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tildix2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2019

This is a lovely, bustling, friendly restaurant/cafe. There are two areas to this restaurant - one side closer to the fire and the other a little cooler for those who don't like to be too close to the heat. This works well because the area not directly near the fire is still cosy and warm on a chilly winter's day in the hills.
Staff are very welcoming and during the weekdays can usually chat a little - weekends are different and sometimes there is a queue out the door and down the street - especially between 12noon and 2pm. The area is popular, so if you want to eat at this restaurant (or any other in the area) you need to plan ahead.
Prices are reasonable and the servings are generous, with children's portions provided.
Hot chocolate comes in three levels - white, milk and dark. I LOVE dark chocolate and this comes nicely heated and a good strong chocolate flavour - my chocolate was on the bottom and I stirred it through the milk until I had a lovely strong flavour all the way to the end!
Recommended!!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SojournerinLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2019

We requested to sit in window and was refused as table was for 5 people. We were seated in rear in are with zero ambiance with not enough room to fit our plates. Food was ok but won’t be back and table we requested was empty the entire time

Date of visit: June 2019
3  Thank MelanieKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2019 via mobile

Visited on a freezing day.
Very cosy with its wood fire. We had the Devonshire Tea for two. Huge scones with homemade raspberry jam and a long black and latte which was all very tasty and nice and hot on such a cold day inthe Dandenongs.
The cafe is spacious so plenty of seating also around the fire.
The staff also very friendly and helpful with very quick service with a smille.
Well worth a visit with parking right out the front if its not busy.
Very enjoyable

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank KimB346
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Olinda Cafe also viewed

 
Sassafras, Victoria
Olinda, Victoria
 

Been to Olinda Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.