We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub”

Pig & Whistle Tavern
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Olinda
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 22 March 2022

Lovely pub with amazing food don’t eat too much before eating here as meals are enormous And yummy and desserts are delicious and fancy the staff were very friendly

Date of visit: March 2022
Thank JOSEPHT1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2022

If they had staff shortages due to covid you wouldn't know, we were well looked after, the meals including salads were large serves, we asked for a bowl of chips for the table expecting a small bowl and this also was huge.
Staff were clearly run off their feet but they still were really lovely and efficient.
The place has a nice buzz to it, will definitely will b back.

Date of visit: February 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Blues79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2021

Table was dirty, place felt neglected. Menus were dirty print outs. Staff looked busy but it wasn't. Food took for ever and we had to ask twice for cutlery after our food arrived....Never mind...

Date of visit: November 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 29sashaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2021

We were staying in nearby Monbulk and this venue was recommended to us.
We had booked a table and, on arrival, were shown straight to the table. Water was produced almost immediately and our drinks order taken very soon after we were seated.
The food was of a very high standard. It was obviously freshly prepared and served within a fairly short time. Given how busy the place was, I was surprised at the speed of service.
The young lady looking after us was an excellent ambassador for The Pig and Whistle. She was very friendly and super-efficient.
The prices on the menu were also very reasonable for the quality of the food.
A most enjoyable night out.
A big "Thank You" to the team from the Pig and Whistle who were on duty on the evening of ANZAC Day.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2021

My husband went to the Pig and Whistle Tavern two nights in a row as we were so impressed and it was so close to where we were staying in Olinda, within walking distance. The service was excellent and the staff made us feel warm and welcome. You can go there at 4:30pm and order a meal which is great if you have kids and want to feed them early. A good selection of beers on tap and I can highly recommend the White Rabbit Chocolate Stout yummy. The food is fantastic with a range of different meal options to choose from. We had the Irish Chicken Parma with a curry sauce and battered fish and chips on our first night there and they were delicious. On the second night we had 300g Scotch Fillet on a bed of potato, bacon and spinach with a sweet garlic jus. This was to die for the steak was cooked to perfection and just the right size without feeling too full. This meal is a credit to the chef. My only issue was there is no freshly cracked pepper on the table but this can be supplied by the staff if requested.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Pig & Whistle Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Pig & Whistle Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.