We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub Atmosphere”

Pig & Whistle Tavern
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Olinda
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 18 April 2021

My husband went to the Pig and Whistle Tavern two nights in a row as we were so impressed and it was so close to where we were staying in Olinda, within walking distance. The service was excellent and the staff made us feel warm and welcome. You can go there at 4:30pm and order a meal which is great if you have kids and want to feed them early. A good selection of beers on tap and I can highly recommend the White Rabbit Chocolate Stout yummy. The food is fantastic with a range of different meal options to choose from. We had the Irish Chicken Parma with a curry sauce and battered fish and chips on our first night there and they were delicious. On the second night we had 300g Scotch Fillet on a bed of potato, bacon and spinach with a sweet garlic jus. This was to die for the steak was cooked to perfection and just the right size without feeling too full. This meal is a credit to the chef. My only issue was there is no freshly cracked pepper on the table but this can be supplied by the staff if requested.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2021 via mobile

Stopped in here for some dinner, easy to book and were very accomodating.
Food was good solid filling fare. Bangers and mash with spinach with 3 pork bangers almost too much. Neighbouring Parmas were enormous!
We liked the decor and the staff were attentive and friendly.
Recommend.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank caseyj1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2021 via mobile

Had dinner 6th March, 2021. Can say with all honesty that the steak was cooked to perfection. Perfectly seasoned and melted in your mouth. My partner had the chicken parma which was equally as good. Meal sizes were more than generous. Would recommend to anyone and everyone who likes a great meal in a lovely relaxed atmosphere.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank lisasG5887DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2021

Was really busy on the Friday night we visited, but food still arrived promptly. Pork belly was tasty and surprisingly non fatty but could have had a little more gravy. Pie and bangers and mash great sized portions and pork sausages a bonus and indicative of British branding of the place. Staff were friendly and good selections of beer. Would recommend.

Date of visit: January 2021
2  Thank 355helenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2021

We had take-away dinner for a family of 5 from the Pig & Whistle Tavern. Each family member commented on the great taste of the food. Thanks!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pad-travel555
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Pig & Whistle Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Pig & Whistle Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.