We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
AU$358
Booking.com
Agoda.com
AU$307
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
68
21
11
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
68
21
11
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house wood fire attention to detail treetops alan cottage accommodation blinds couch heater oven
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2018

It's got a great view, very secluded and private but it needs a renovation. There are broken tiles in the bathroom covered by a mat, the shower door didn't close properly, missing champagne glass so only one was available, some lightbulbs have been burnt out, horrible soaps that just dry your skin out and some towels are stained. Besides those details it's very cosy, nice getaway but for the price it should be better quality.

Room tip: Treehouse 3 is closer to the road so it's louder.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 June 2018

I booked the Treetops 3 for my partner's birthday gift and we loved our stay. I was a little worried driving down the drive way because the cottages looked a little run down, but when we opened the door to our cottage we were put completely at ease. This cottage was spacious, clean and modern and each of the 3 floors were delightful. The bathroom supplied really cool looking shampoo/conditioner/body lotion bottles and plenty of clean, fresh and fluffy towels. The spa was huge and worked wonderfully.

The bedroom is surrounded by windows overlooking the forest which is beautiful and had a well-sized balcony. The downstairs/living room area had a lovely fireplace and they supplied plenty of firewood which kept it running for hours.

Only a few negatives about this place which stopped it from being a 5 rating. The shower head is too low - I'm 5"10 and had to duck. The shower shelf was broken off so there was no where to put our things. I also felt that asking for a $50 fee on top of the $350 fee for not doing your own dishes is a bit steep, and I don't like the idea of previous guests having reluctantly washed the dishes I'm about to use (with no dishwasher also).

Overall, we had an awesome stay and I would highly recommend, especially as a romantic getaway.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We wanted to book somewhere very nice and luxurious to take our friends away to say thank you for them helping us in the past. We thought Lochiel “Original Cottage” Luxury Accommodation sounded perfect. How wrong we were! Our heart sank when we turned onto the property to see a derelict old car by the side of the old and dirty house. It proceeded to get worse from there on. Firstly, we were presented with a front entrance where the screen door was hanging open, broken, then inside we were affronted with wet floors, which was of concern to a member of our party who has MS, shabby and marked furniture, dirty and broken curtains, no WIFI, a toilet that kept running unless the water inlet tap was turned off, dangerously scolding hot water, mould on the shower floor tiles, leaking taps in the showers, shabby bathroom mirrors, a broken towel rail, bedside lamps that didn't work, blown globes in the ceiling lights, clunky noisy central heating system at night, huge spider webs on the outside of the windows, an outside decking which was so slimy that it was too dangerous to walk on, empty beer bottles laying in the grass next to the house, cigarette butts on the outside of the kitchen window sill, a spa whose jets fell out and knobs fell off, as well as a very slippery deck….and to top it all off, the appearance of a big rat from under the dishwasher in the kitchen where the base board was loose. We were so embarrassed to think that this was where we had brought our friends for a special weekend away. Instead of taking photos of a beautiful luxurious cottage, we took photos showing all the very poor quality. The cost of this accommodation is outrageous for the quality offered and is definitely not value for money. Lochiel Luxury Accommodation, it most certainly is not…..it should be called Lochiel Very Old and Shabby Accommodation.
In light of all of these things above, we have requested a refund of half of the payment that we made, as we do not believe that accommodation in the "Original Cottage" was up to the "luxury" claim.

Date of stay: May 2018
10  Thank Lost-Aussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We stayed in the "treetops cottage" number 3, it was so lovely! The heaters were on for us when we arrived, the cottage was so clean and neat. It had everything we needed! It's in a great position, so close to everything yet you feel like you're in your own private forest! Can't wait to go back again, we'll be staying more than one night next time!

Room tip: treetops and perfect for 2, very cosy and comfortable, great views, comfy bed and a great spa!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank twohappytravellers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2017

A couple of delightful days out of a busy schedule at Lochiel. Accommodation is first class. Lying in bed at night bathed in the moonlight through the four hexagon windows on the third floor bedroom was surreal. Every window gives you a different aspect into the forest. Sitting on the bedroom balcony reading and having coffee a family of deer wandered by, next day a stag complete with a full set of antlers. Being able to walk everywhere into Olinda made two days seem longer. Breakfast at Ranges was superb, the big breakfast we could only manage one day and we did not seem hungry the rest of the time. Treated ourselves to dinner in the room, if you wanted to cook there is a full stove and oven, but we just did breads, cheeses etc. It was just too nice to go out. We look forward to coming back and trying out the guest house with friends.

Room tip: Each cottage is individual in the forest, all are great.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank colleenwendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews