We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$360
Breakfast included
Priceline
Agoda.com
AU$316
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
68
21
11
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
68
21
11
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house wood fire attention to detail treetops alan cottage accommodation blinds couch heater oven
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here overnight to enable an oxfam night walk practice. Great location, across the road from a great sweet shop which supports locally made goods, around the corner from lovely cafes and shops ( including the gorgeous Little Lands shop), and a short walk to some great hiking trails. The check in was a little late due to the previous people apparently making a bit of a mess but this was rectified as soon as possible and the condition of the place was beautifully clean and welcoming. The views from the window are beautiful and relaxing. The fireplace was set up ready to light, enough towels to be had, there are a good number of beds ( 3 upstairs, 2 downstairs all a leading. good size), full kitchen. Unfortunately the spa wasn't working but when we spoke to one of the owners about making sure it was ready for our next stay ( yes we are definitely going back and very happy to do so) he was accommodating and mentioned that next time if anything was amiss to just call them straight away. One tip about the driveways-the one off the main road has some deep pits, which for a full normal sedan is a challenge but there is another drive just around the corner which is fine. It was a little annoying to have only one key as we had to leave half the party inside and come back in the early hours of the morning and there was no way of doing this -if you'll be in the same situation I recommend asking for two keys. In the morning we heard the beautiful call of kookaburras and the fresh air is divine. I would definitely recommend this place for families/ groups and we look forward to staying there again.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank alinay1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a fun weekend in the school holidays. We were a party of 4 kids & 6 adults, and all fitted in comfortably!
The spa was definitely a hit for all, as was the gorgeous open log fire! The house is set in beautiful bush with birds visiting our balcony often!
The house is perfectly located in Olinda within easy access to everything we wanted to do! As an added bonus the sweet shop is just over the road 👍🏼
We would definitely recommend this accom & happily stay again!!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 185suec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LochielOwner, Manager at Lochiel Luxury Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you for your review. It was lovely reading your comment and we are glad you maximised all the features of our cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lochiel Accommodation in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

After staying at other retreats/ b&b's in the area and receiving much better service at nearby competitors, I was quite disappointed with our stay at Lochiels.

The room/ cottage my partner and I stayed in was nice but it looked different from the online photos and it felt cramped. The scenery from the back windows was lovely but I felt that the room lacked in privacy as the cottages were close to one another and people walking by could see in (just an observation of mine as this was never an issue at other places I've stayed in Olinda).

Check in was a bit confusing at Lochiels and there was no reception. Another detail that shocked me was the fact that, after paying $440 a night for accommodation here, it is expected that you pay a $50 cleaning fee if you do not wash the dishes that you use in your room and return them to their place in the cupboard- so on our 5th anniversary I had to make sure I allocated time to wash some dishes. I found this to be absolutely miserable- I've stayed at much cheaper hotels who do not ask for such a thing.

Breakfast was quite confusing and we actually spoke to the manager/ owner regarding this. We didn't plan on going to breakfast at the nearby cafe but it was stated in our room information booklet that it was included in our stay, accompanied by a poorly written and confusing breakfast voucher. After eating breakfast we were told it was not included so we paid which was fine, but management definitely need to amend the in-room booklet that clearly states that it is.

Overall, for the price this place lacked a fair bit. I would strongly recommend trying other places in the area such as Linden gardens rainforest retreat for much better service and just a better atmosphere altogether. Lochiels was unfortunately a let down for us.

Date of stay: September 2016
1  Thank Madi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LochielOwner, Manager at Lochiel Luxury Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay.
Your booking was through a third party website and as per our booking confirmation breakfast was not included in the tariff. However we provided you with a 50% discounted voucher for local cafe, Ranges at Olinda. Fortunately our many guests before and after that have stayed with us have thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us and the beautiful unique rain forest views from the windows and balconies.
Sometimes people view things differently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

My brothers and I, along with our families, brought a weekend stay at Lochiel for our parents last Christmas. Unfortunately our dad passed away not long after. Together, with the help of Jonathon and the Lochiel team; my brothers and I arranged to surprise our mum with the weekend stay - just the 5 of us. We couldn't have done it without the help and support of Lochiel. We stayed in the white guest house and it was perfect! We spent our time at the cottage around the fire, enjoying the spa and relaxing together. Would definitely stay again! Thanks Lochiel!

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank MummaMayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LochielOwner, Manager at Lochiel Luxury Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We felt right at home from the moment we stepped into the 3 level cottage. The heater was turned on for us, the fireplace was set up and ready to be lit and the owner, Alan, was friendly and accommodating, ensuring we had everything we needed and asked us to call him if we had any issues.
Every window had a wonderful view of the trees and forest surrounding the property. Everything was clean and the cottage was quite spacious for 2. The king size bed was comfortable and perfect for a couple, as was the spa bath. Great little touches make this stay wonderful, such as the complimentary toiletries, tea, coffee, chocolates from the local sweet shop and breakfast vouchers for the Ranges cafe.
The only real negative was the noise from the road, and the headlights shining through the windows.
Overall, great location, amazing staff and perfect for a couples retreat into the Dandenong Ranges.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mary-Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews