We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kelly
Clifton Springs, Australia

Clear skies and roast beef!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Nov 2023
The skies are magnificent! The hosts are lovely and so very friendly and accommodating. Get the meals package. We had such a wonderful weekend here and we are already talking about coming back. Rooms were comfortable and we had our own ensuite.
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: Enjoy the skies! We went as part of an Astronomy long weekend and we were blown away by the...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$103
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
13.1 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
13.1 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
12.3 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
Free parking
Pool
    13.1 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
    AU$162
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$162
    37.7 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$141
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$141
    38.7 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    81.7 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Priceline
    56.9 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Bathroom in guest room
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    56.6 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Deluxe guest room
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    56.0 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Nhill
    Reviews (63)
    Filter reviews
    63 results
    Traveller rating
    32
    19
    9
    3
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    32
    19
    9
    3
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews desert national park mallee birds accommodation birders kitchenette
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 63 reviews
    Reviewed 12 April 2023

    This was a magnificent place to see birdlife of the mallee and of the Little Desert National Park. There are two fabulous waterholes where the birds come to visit morning and evening. The accommodation is basic rooms, twin-share, with a communal living area and a kitchenette for boiling water and a microwave for heating food. The beds and rooms were extremely comfortable, if basic. But the birdlife was spectacular.

    Room tip: The facilities are basic, but so is the price. A very comfortable option for self-caterers who are here to see the birdlife.
    Date of stay: March 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Julie_C_11
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 July 2020 via mobile

    Our family of 4 absolutely loved this outpost - quiet, natural and rustic. Be prepared to fuel your own breakfast and meals. Eat dinner at Mr Le in Nhill. Amazing array of birds on view including George, the worlds friendliest emu and a pen full of
    Kangaroo rats. You might spot a rare mallee fowl in the brush. The lodge has walking tracks that abut the actual Little Desert- unique terrain and interesting even I the rainy season. Plenty of small and large natural adventures to be had. Highly recommend for nature lovers and families.

    Date of stay: July 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank Shira L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 November 2019

    Spent 5 nights at an Astronomy weekend for about 80 enthusiasts , magnificent dark skies .
    Camping and caravan sites spacious and convenient .
    New owners very cooperative in setting up reduced light environment , and working hard to rejuvenate facilities allowed to deteriorate by previous managers .
    A secured area for wildlife and home to George , resident emu and sometime consumer of lens caps ; you have been warned , it's his place and that's what he does , while we were there he was in splendid isolation in his own suite for our protection .

    Room tip: Shared kitchen with hot water , toaster , microwave and fridges . Guest lounge with flat screen TV . Wifi on way .
    Date of stay: October 2019
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank pecham34
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 October 2019

    The room spotless and well presented
    Meals in the big dining room excellent
    There were self guides trails to explore
    The night feeding of the Betongs very special
    Birds in abundance plus the very elusive Mallee Fowl
    And George !
    Bonus no TV

    Date of stay: October 2019
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank broomym
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 August 2019

    An absolutely beautiful place to spend a few days. The flora and fauna in the Little Desert easy-walking south of the Lodge are a joy to see and feel.
    The Lodge was established about 20 years ago but had become a bit worn and sad. But the new owners took it over in July 2019 and (with a little help from the Victorian government) are in the process of restoring the accommodation facility to its intended glory - and they are doing a great job. Make it a must for your next weekend get-away.
    Noel Murphy - with no financial, friend or family association with the owners of the Lodge

    Date of stay: August 2019
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank Noel M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews