We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mark

just the best experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Oct 2019
The room spotless and well presented
Meals in the big dining room excellent
There were self guides trails to explore
The night feeding of the Betongs very special
Birds in abundance plus the very elusive Mallee Fowl
And George !
Bonus no TV
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$130
  • Agoda.com
    AU$130
  • Vio.com
    AU$130
13.1 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$135
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
  • Priceline
    AU$135
13.1 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
AU$100
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$100
  • Agoda.com
    AU$100
  • Vio.com
    AU$100
12.3 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
Free parking
Pool
AU$157
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$157
  • Agoda.com
    AU$140
  • Hotels.com
    AU$315
37.7 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$75
No prepayment needed
    33.1 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    AU$140
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      AU$140
    • Agoda.com
      AU$140
    38.7 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
    AU$142
    Fully refundable
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      AU$145
    • Tripadvisor
      AU$142
    • Booking.com
    38.7 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
    Free parking
    Outdoor Swimming Pool
    AU$108
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      AU$108
    • Agoda.com
      AU$108
    • Vio.com
      AU$108
    34.4 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Family Room
    AU$155
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Expedia.com
      AU$153
    • Hotels.com
      AU$142
    • Priceline
      AU$155
    55.8 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$125
    • Priceline
      AU$125
    • Expedia.com
      AU$125
    • Hotels.com
      AU$125
    55.9 km from Little Desert Nature Lodge
    Free parking
    Room service
    View more hotels in Nhill
    Reviews (63)
    Filter reviews
    63 results
    Traveller rating
    32
    19
    9
    3
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    32
    19
    9
    3
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews desert national park mallee birds accommodation birders kitchenette
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 63 reviews
    Reviewed 18 August 2019

    An absolutely beautiful place to spend a few days. The flora and fauna in the Little Desert easy-walking south of the Lodge are a joy to see and feel.
    The Lodge was established about 20 years ago but had become a bit worn and sad. But the new owners took it over in July 2019 and (with a little help from the Victorian government) are in the process of restoring the accommodation facility to its intended glory - and they are doing a great job. Make it a must for your next weekend get-away.
    Noel Murphy - with no financial, friend or family association with the owners of the Lodge

    Date of stay: August 2019
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank Noel M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 May 2019

    It is such a shame and disappointment for the locals that surround this wonderful piece of land called The Little Desert that the Lodge has closed. Somehow the owners never seem to be able to get it 'up and running' and when they do it all fizzles out. We need to have this Resort re activated and someone to take it over who is serious about hospitality. It has provision for caravans, camping, kitchen, BBQ, luxury accommodation, student quarters for schools to visit and get into the studies of the area. So peaceful for those who 'just wanna get away' and lose themselves for awhile. The property caters for a Manager on site, weddings, functions, educational, conferences and the list goes on. Please if someone out there can come up with an answer to this place and save it from ruin please let us folk at Nhill know about it. We need to re-open this place asap. Spring is coming upon us and is the best time of the year in the Western part of Victoria & am sure George the house emu (welcoming committee) would be happy to see some nomads, guests come into the gated area and enjoy the ambience of the place. The gates closed couple months ago and is I understand UP FOR SALE. This property is 50 years old this year and was built by a well known identity Wimpy Reichelt and wife Maureen (dec) who had wonderful vision way back then. We need some large hospitality company to get in and fix it. WOW that would be wonderful.
    Helen of Nhill

    Date of stay: May 2019
    4  Thank HELEN W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 November 2018

    We spent two nights here recently with a focus on looking for birds in the mallee. The room was clean and well appointed but lacked the ability to cook or store food items. There was a communal kitchen area and refrigerator but the tools and cookingpots and pans were rather old and in need of replacement. Excellent walking paths in the malle to wander and look for birds or view the unique flora but, again, the interpretive brochure to accompany the numbered locati9ns on the path was missing half the items and a number of the directional signs were faded beyond legibility or missing entirely. Perhaps we were ther between seasons but we were disappointed in the lax approach to the propert upkeep.

    Date of stay: October 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ISayLetsGoNow
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 October 2018

    My husband and I stayed here in October 2018, in a Garden Room. The location is fabulous - in the midst of acres of unspoiled mallee, with nesting malleefowl fairly regularly seen from good walking trails (we are birders). Our room was very spacious and comfortable, clean and up to date. But be aware, the Lodge and its associated land, which is adjacent to the Little Desert National Park, are up for sale. There is no catering available, and the guided walks which were advertised are not on offer at present. If you are staying there you need to bring everything you need to feed yourself - including cutlery, plates etc, as the rooms are only provided with tea/coffee making facilities. I believe there is some self-catering provision available in the Common Room/Lounge. In addition, there is very little catering available in the nearby small town of Nhill after 1630 - we failed to find any takeaway food. There is a good, well-stocked supermarket which enabled us to organise our supper! I do hope the new owners, whoever they are, will continue to make visiting this super place possible.

    Room tip: Garden rooms are more spacious
    Date of stay: October 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank JaneBNorfolk_UK
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

    Stayed he for a night and experienced a very tranquil evening and glorious morning in this gorgeous place, located in a fenced off paradise.

    Greeted early in the morning by George the emu.

    I would like to return and spend at least four days to really enjoy his nature.

    Date of stay: December 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank George K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kay F, Front Office Manager at Little Desert Nature Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

    Hi George, so glad you enjoyed your visit. we hope to see you return again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews