We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
158
174
69
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
174
69
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brown brothers king valley across the road cheese factory grape vines shared balcony cellar door luxury escapes package merlot restaurant open fire rooms are large shower door sunset room lovely accommodation onsite restaurant lounge area bathroom floor
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Very dated, in desperate need of an update and severely lacking in character.

The rooms are like a very very fancy motel. If I was paying the full rate I would not be happy. Karen on reception was lovely, as was the delightful lady in the kitchen who helped us back into our room this morning and made us a coffee. I could not fault their customer service.

Dinner was a different story however. Service was adequate at best, more-so bordering on apathetic. The restaurant itself completely lacked style and taste, and the food although good, would have been much better enjoyed in a more inspired atmosphere.

The most impressive part of the hotel is the grounds. I also very much enjoyed watching the sunrise over the vineyard this morning. Brown Brothers over the road is a delightful way to spend a sunny afternoon, but I would save my pennies and visit one of the many well run bnb's in the area over this any day. It is not the luxurious experience it may appear to be from the outside.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Large clean and comfy rooms with views over the Brown Brothers vineyard. The staff are friendly and helpful and extended a warm welcome on a very cold night. Lindenwarrah has a cosy and well appointed sitting room with papers, magazines and games. There is also a pool if your staying through the Summer months. The breakfast is 5 star, but check that the restaurant is open for dinner if you stay early in the week.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear with a view of the vineyard
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JumboJetJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

This was a really nice hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly. Room was beautiful and spacious. Down sides was no room service and the meals weren't as good as the high price demanded. Overall I was very happy and would recommend this hotel for those visiting the area.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Taster9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Stayed 2 nights in an upstairs room. Room was very roomy. We had two single beds and a child's cot. TV could have been a little bigger. Timber lounge with soft seating, not built for prolonged sitting but OK. Glass double doors open onto a common balcony overlooking Brown Brothers Winery, quite a pretty outlook but may be hot in summer as it faces West. Outside door shutters could be closed for more privacy. All staff were truly lovely and went beyond expectation to assist, thank you. The bathroom had ample space with shower, toilet and basin also lovely little products to use, moisturiser, shampoo and conditioner etc. Tea and coffee making with a mini bar. There's a spacious common lounge down stairs with board games and a lovely open fire, looking out through large windows to the vines. Upstairs there is also a lounge area which looks out large windows to Brown Brothers vines.
Breakfast was a small buffet with quality fruits, cereals and cooked options. THE BEST croissants Ive tried. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and found the food to be of high quality. A lovely short break location.

Room Tip: Choose east facing rooms in the summer.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wishlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Being our wedding anniversary, my husband discovered this gourmet escape through the luxury escapes website. It was a cold afternoon when we arrived, but we received a very warm welcome and introduction from Karen at reception. Our room was very large with a balcony that overlooked the vineyards, in fact all of the upstairs rooms and sitting areas had views over looking vineyards. Beautiful surrounds. Lindenwarrah has two large sitting areas and I particularly enjoyed sitting and reading in the very large lounge room downstairs. During the late afternoon the open fire was lit which just added to my enjoyment. As part of our 'package' we could have a complimentary entree or dessert when eating at their on-site Merlot Restaurant. Our meal at the Merlot Restaurant was beautifully presented and delicious. For entree I had the smoked trout, followed by Black Angus scotch fillet served with the most amazing accompaniments. Even though we were feeling quite full we couldn't resist sharing the Turkish chocolate tart which would be one of my favourite desserts ever! Along with a bottle of local wine it was a memorable meal. Lindenwarrah is advertised as luxury, but a few things need to be tweaked to bring it up to that standard. Breakfast lacked a variety of breads and small cups for coffee and tea were not adequate. The bedrooms are very spacious but are a little 'tired', as are the bathrooms. They are small criticisms and overall we had a wonderful two nights here

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DebRed_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews