We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous County Gin”
Review of Hurdle Creek Still

Hurdle Creek Still
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Milawa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Mostly, we make Gin. An idea that was born from an aversion to getting up and driving to work in the morning and an appreciation for the calming effects of a libation poured over ice in the evening time. And so, Hurdle Creek Still came to be on the family property in the King Valley in March 2016. All of our products are made and bottled onsite in The StillHouse. Our triple distilled base spirit is made from locally sourced grain using a traditional infusion mashing system which gives our gin a unique grain character. The juniper and a select blend of local and native botanicals - some of which are grown in our garden – are vapour infused into the spirit ensuing light, subtle flavours throughout our gins.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Gin is my drink
In the middle of northern Victoria, outside Milawa, along a dirt road is a large tin shed.
The signpost gives it away.
The Hurdle Creek Still.
The distillery is fascinating as is talking to the tasting hostess who knows her botanicals.
The gins are divine.
My pick was the 57% proof Powder Monkey Gin which literally popped on your palate.
A real treasure!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank robertwM9680KI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"brown brothers"
in 5 reviews
"gin distillery"
in 3 reviews
"dirt road"
in 3 reviews
"powder monkey"
in 3 reviews
"tin shed"
in 2 reviews
"great gin"
in 2 reviews
"whole process"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 2 reviews
"botanicals"
in 5 reviews
"yardarm"
in 5 reviews
"anise"
in 6 reviews
"simon"
in 3 reviews
"stories"
in 2 reviews
"victoria"
in 2 reviews
"melbourne"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Great Aussie Gin, if you like Gin this is a must. Also have some other spirits for those who don’t love Gin.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank phantomcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

These guys a bit off the beaten track but the road is sealed all the way except for about 500m of dirt road. Owners were friendly and knowledgeable and doing some really great products out there. Be prepared to spend some money if you like gin, patsis or chocolate liqueur.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank catriona777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

A limited range of excellent handcrafted gin's, emphasising native botanicals.

Very friendly atmosphere, with an informative owner who is only too happy to tell you about what he does and how he does it.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank johnrlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018

The staff were great at explaining their process of making Gin and explaining why it is different to other Gin makers, which was clear in the tastings. A must try for any Gin drinker and well priced. This has become my go-to Gin from now and even better it's an Australian made product.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hurdle Creek Still also viewed

 

Been to Hurdle Creek Still? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing