We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 out of 10” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McMillans of Metung Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McMillans of Metung Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“10 out of 10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Spacious villa in a beautiful setting with a lagoon and resident ducks. We stayed 3 nights mid-week using a Scoopon voucher, villa was spotless, nicely furnished, spa bath and fully fitted kitchen. The breakfast hamper was ample for our stay, the 'baked-on-bricks' bread was so nice, we bought loaves to take home. Very pleasant walk into Metung along the boardwalk and it was lovely to see the swans and cygnets. One minor critique, pillows are like bricks, so if you like a soft one, best bring your own.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SusieInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    48
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
53
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at McMillans of Metung Resort Sept 2011 in a 2 bedroom Cottage (Pelican Pad). From the moment we arrived we knew we had found somewhere special. Not only McMillans but Metung in general. Its is an enchanting area, beautiful scenery and glorious sun rises over the Gippsland lakes. The boadwalk is an absolute treat, into town and back along the lake. A photographers paradise. The resort itself is very well laid out with friendly staff upon arrival and full of information. The breakfast basket was plenty for the 4 mornings we were there. The complimentary newspaper in the morning a nice touch. The resort is on 8 hectares complete with swimming pool, games room and the rooms laid out so as guests are not on top of one another. The other bonus which we did enjoy was McMillans have their own private jetty directly across the road from the resort so one can fish off there as much as they like. We also drove up to Tamba Bay,about 10 minutes up the road to try our hand at fishing, but those fish are still free in the river. Even though we didn't catch a fish, it was so tranquil, relaxing and enjoyable you couldn't complain as you were just too relaxed having spent a day on the gorgeous river bank. I would highly recommend staying at McMillans of Metung, especially midweek if you can. Its appears a great place for families but especially for couples wanting that bit of time away together.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We have just returned from a stay at McMillans on a Scoopon. The villa was luxurious and spotless, and the kitchen had everything we needed for self catering. The continental breakfast hamper was plentiful. We especially appreciated the freshly baked bread and the orange juice that was free of colours, flavours and preservatives.The hosts accommodated our son with ease and a minimal extra charge, and he enjoyed the super children's playground. We all enjoyed the games room which had no video games (yay!) playing table tennis, air hockey, and magnetic darts - and stunning photographs on display. The dinner at Metung Galley was delicious and the 3-hour self-drive boat from Director Cruises was great fun. Apart from a glitch with the dining vouchers at Metung Galley which was sorted out without too much effort, we enjoyed our stay so much that we took advantage of the offer to extend for an extra night. Even at full rate this is a super venue and the staff were friendy without being intrusive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed at McMillans of Metung a couple of years ago and then stayed recently in January. The resort has changed hands since we were there last although the last managers names are still on all the documentation. There were a few differences (there was a beautiful basket of food & bottle of wine in rooms when we stayed last which we didn't get this time) but overall the cottages were still very clean and Rachel (new manager) seemed very welcoming and friendly. They were running a few kids activities which my daughter loved. We were in a different cottage this time which we liked less than the last one but it was still good and had lovely views out to the water and across the immaculate grounds. We will go back to McMillans as often as we can as it is such a peaceful place and our children just love it. (also has a jetty which my husband loved going out on and catching fish).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Normals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Service here was excellent. We arrived around 5:30pm, and the hostess was waiting for us. She even phoned the grocery store to ask them to wait for us before closing up, since they regularly close up at 5:30. We also got upgraded to a Villa with Spa.

The villa was very large and spacious, with very nice view out the large picture windows covering 2 walls. The kitchen was also very large and fully equipped with BBQ on the deck. The laundry was in the basement, with the second bathroom and second bedroom. The second bedroom was quite bland with cement walls and quite far away from the main living area. This would not be ideal for younger children. If you come from N. America, you will find that Australian washing and drying machines take an age. So, be ready to devote 3 hours min, to washing/drying -- and therefore, there is quite abit of noise downstairs, if you're doing a lot of laundry overnight.

The master bedroom upstairs is very nice, with a very large ensuite bathroom and jacuzzi tub.

The grounds are very nice, with duck ponds and trees, with a reasonable distance between villas, so noise isn't an issue. There is no traffic, since this is a gated community, and there is nice playground for the children, and pool too.

It is a relatively short walk into town, on a boardwalk part of the way. There isn't much to do there, but if you're into boating, the area would be nice to explore.

There is no internet here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metung
12.3 km away
Captains Cove
Captains Cove
#1 of 2 in Paynesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
12.4 km away
Mariners Cove Motel & Apartments
1.3 km away
The Moorings at Metung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Edgewater Terraces at Metung
1.1 km away
Metung Waters
Metung Waters
#2 of 4 in Metung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.3 km away
5 Knots
5 Knots
#4 of 9 in Metung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMillans of Metung Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMillans of Metung Resort

Property: McMillans of Metung Resort
Address: 155 Metung Rd, Metung, Victoria 3904, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Metung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Metung
Price range (per night): $96 - $462
Hotel Class:4 star — McMillans of Metung Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the luxury of a resort, comforts of home, McMillans of Metung Resort offers an unforgettable experience. Eight acres of manicured lawns and gardens. Well appointed Villas and cosy Cottages, McMillans provides a perfect getaway that guests can make their very own. Villas and Cottages are self-contained inlcuding linen, fully equipped kitchen, living areas with TV/DVD, laundry, balcony and bar-b-cue. We look forward to welcoming you to this beautiful corner of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your McMillans of Metung Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McMillans Of Metung Resort Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing