We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tower Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tower Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Marysville
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

A group of friends stayed here for a golf weekend. Dave, the owner, was sensational. Brilliant hospitality. Very helpful. Love the courtyard area for a wine and a few nibbles before dinner. Highly recommend it for a weekend stay. Thanks Dave. We will be back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    41
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
65
110
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I really liked this accomodation. I usually stayed at the Cumberland however this is no longer there due to the fires so decided to stay at The Tower Motel as I had seen it previously. The owners were both absolutely lovely - they are a family who have owned the motel for the past 10 years and survived the devestating fires. The motel is very well presented from the outside having been freshly painted with lovely trees and seats out the front of each room. The room itself was great - well presented and light and airy. The only negative was that the shower was not piping hot - more warmish.
My husband and I were looking for a place to go for dinner and unfortunately Marysville does not yet have anywhere to go so we had to go to the Buxton pub one night and the Black Spur Inn the other night however these two places were lovely (the Buxton pub is a true pub - no salad available on the menu!). The bakery is still serving great food - as is the cafe Fragos however these are only open during the day.
I would definitely stay at this motel again and recommend others to stay there also.
Marysville really needs visitors so everyone should go! While it is quite sad to see what it is like now compared to what it used to be, it is still definitely worth going.

Room Tip: We had room 17 which was on the top floow right at the end - would highly recommen asking for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacsigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

To our horror, our room at the Motel was absolutely infested with silverfish - in the carpets, falling off the pelmet onto the bed, the bedside tables, the vanity in the bathroom. We found three in our suitcases after removing all clothes from our suitacases prior to checking out. I'm certain we would have left with more had my wife not bought spray and sprayed around our cases, bedside tables etc after finding the first couple of silverfish late on the first night.
When we woke the next morning there were two dead on the bedside table, three next to the suitcases, half a dozen on the pelmet above the bed and four in the bathroom. My wife was washing her face in the bathroom sink in the morning, stepped away from the sink to attend to one of our children, then returned to find one floating in the water.
We brought it to the attention of the owners after checking out - couldn't bring it to their attention any earlier as we arrived back late in the evening so office was closed. The owners were non-plussed and offered us no refund or apologies.

Room Tip: Stay in Healesville instead and day trip to Marysville.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan67_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

For years, we have been to Marysville staying at luxury B and B's or camping. Sadly now there is only 3 accomodation options left, one being the Tower Motel. I had driven past this place a million times and took no notice of it until this ski season as it is our only real option.The lovely owners have done a magnificent job getting it al back up to speed, it is immaculately clean and comfy and you wouldn't know that it sustained a fair bit of fire damage. The Marysville community need lots of support ( ie; tourists) to come back and have done a great job in getting things happening. Fragas cafe is operating out of temporary premises, the bakery is as good as ever and a we had a great meal at Crossways inn. The Buxton Pub is only 10 kms up the road and serves good cheap pub grub and it is worth going just to check out the locals. And the iconic Igloo at Buxton is also thankfully still dishing up great big burgers. Sadly the beautiful Steavensons Falls has been decimated (it is currently closed to the public but we walked the 2 kms up there and it is heartbreaking to see what has happened there) but new life is springng up all around. Brunos sculpture garden has reopened and again the gardens are growing back and look quite surreal. Even though the snow season has not been great, it is worth a trip up to see this beautiful part of the world and support the local community.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lulu1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

Great motel, comfortable, clean and centrally located. Friendly owners. Excellent breakfast and great value for money.

Helpful?
2 Thank chloew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marysville
0.1 km away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
27.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
#1 of 3 in Warburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 km away
Marysville Garden Cottages
Marysville Garden Cottages
#1 of 6 in Marysville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Marysville Patisserie and Cottages
26.4 km away
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Sanctuary House Resort Motel
#1 of 3 in Healesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 km away
Marysville Caravan & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Motel

Property: Tower Motel
Address: 33 Murchison St, Marysville, Victoria 3779, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Marysville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Marysville
Price range (per night): $112 - $188
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique experience in an idyllic location. This unique Motel offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms. King suits with free-standing deep soaking baths. Family rooms, all with spacious bathroom including double showers. At the Tower Motel you also will can enjoy a private courtyard, a roof deck with a wonderful view of sugar loaf, Marysville's township with Stevenson river flowing through and the surrounding mountains. ' T bar ' - offers a place to unwind with a glass of local wine, craft beers & ciders or that coffee you deserve. A great meeting place to enjoy family and friends in the Bar/lounge with an open fireplace and baby- grand piano. With the Yarra valley on the doorstep, Lake Mountain Alpine Resort around the corner ask about our tour services available in a Luxury 8 seater 'Mercedes Benz Viano'. The Stirling family, welcome your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Tower Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Motel Marysville, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing