We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy with great food”
Review of Destiny Point Cafe

Destiny Point Cafe
Ranked #1 of 60 Restaurants in Kalorama
Price range: AU$9 - AU$19
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 January 2020

Family business with hosts, Brandon & Monica. French chef Nic serves up tasty,filling dishes. His "big breakfast" is outstanding. Plenty of options on the menu without having to take 30 minutes to read it. Food presentation is excellent. Brandon makes a very good cup of coffee and is always up for a chat if it is not too busy. Staff are always pleasant and usually handle the lunch pressure well, particularly at weekends. Large windows allow views across the Yarra Valley and Silvan Dam. Parking is not a problem. Not a licensed premises- just great people and food- what more can you say !

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank 189geoffw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2019 via mobile

A very inclusive cafe with a number of vegetarian and vegan options. Great views across the Upper Yarra Valley towards Mount Donna Buang.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank FrostyRemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2019

Went to the cafe with a couple of friends. We sat at a table by the window and the view was fantastic. We ordered the Salmon salad, spicy eggplant chip and hearty vegetable soup. Loved the combination of the salad with the salmon. Eggplant chips were not too spicy and the crunchy coating on the outside blended well with the soft eggplant. Hearty vegetable soup was homemade and tasty. Highly recommended to visit on a trip to the Dandenongs.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank Jit5752
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Having recently moved to the Dandenongs we have tried a few eateries to date. All have been very good with the Destiny Point Cafe perhaps having the best scones, jam and cream we have tried. The pot of tea was, unfortunately, luke warm with just barely enough for a small second cup. The meals looked interesting and the prices seemed reasonable so we will return with other family members on another occasion.
Staff were efficient and service prompt with a great smile.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2019

My wife and I shared a plate of flathead fish with the best fries(chips) we have eaten in a long time. The second dish was corn fritters and smoked salmon with a poached egg and cream cheese. They did not skimp on the salmon! Unbelievable taste combo.

NOTE: They are closed on Monday and Tuesday.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Playa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Destiny Point Cafe also viewed

 
Sassafras, Victoria
Mount Dandenong, Victoria
 

Been to Destiny Point Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.