We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pizza and good wine”
Review of Innocent Bystander

Innocent Bystander
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Healesville
Price range: AU$10 - AU$28
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Come and visit us at our home in Healesville (we call it IBHQ) for delicious wine, local produce, artisan pizza and tasty paella, or enjoy a non-wine option such as our real cider, local beers and spirits and great coffee. It’s an urban cellar door, restaurant, bar and your home away from home, so swing by relax and enjoy. We think our wines are best enjoyed with good company and great food, so we crafted our menu with sharing in mind. Created using fresh local Yarra Valley ingredients and inspired by classic dishes we love, our food matches our wines – delicious!
Reviewed 31 May 2024

Great pizza. Staff member who served us went above and beyond to help us determine what wineries in the area we should go to as we only had a limited time in the Yarra Valley. His suggestions proved to be right on! great atmosphere.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank klrc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2024

We walked past Innocent Bystander one afternoon and decided to book for dinner after seeing how delicious the food looked at the tables. It was very busy which was a good sign.

The three of us decided on one starter each to share. The croquettes, prawns and terrine. There were three croquettes. They were creamy and delicious. The terrine was very dry and came with four tiny, hard pieces of over toasted bread. There were only two prawns to share so they were divided between the three of us.

For mains we ordered the lamb pizza (which came with a salad) and a bowl of fries to share. When the pizza arrived we all looked at each other and said “where’s the lamb”? There were only the tiniest bits of shredded lamb and a lot of cheese on a fairly large size pizza. The flavours and texture of the pizza were unusual and not enjoyable at all…we’ve had better at the local pizza shop. The fries ended up being the best part of the meal. We therefore didn’t know what to expect when it came to our desserts. The churros however were delicious with the dark chocolate sauce. The other two desserts (one with a mango slice over the top) and the other, a panna cotta, were pretty average.

The drinks we ordered ( a dry white wine and two whisky’s and cokes) were enjoyable. The waitress we had was short and to the point when taking our orders. And never smiled. Having worked in hospitality for many years, I understand what it takes to engage people and to make them feel welcome.

Our expectations were high for a great night out. Unfortunately it disappointed on many levels. Sorry to say, but we won’t be back.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carrots1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2023 via mobile

What a great find in the middle of Healesville. Easy menu with a few tasty alternatives for those who want something a bit different without being pretentious. Priced well, friendly service , good parking . We had lunch here on our way through to Warburton . We would have happily gone back but unfortunately were travelling on; maybe next time

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2023

This is a great restaurant for a very casual lunch. We went on a Sunday and despite being flat out the service was excellent. Food is consistently of high quality and we enjoy the local wines. My husband enjoyed the low-alcohol beer (surprise!). Wine tasting makes the venue a bit more special and adds another dimension to the dining experience. Prices were average. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cherryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2023 via mobile

Empanadas we’re delicious, great selection of pizzas and perfect size to share, truffle fries were skipable, dessert special was a high light.
Wine, cocktails and ciders were good!
Staff were lovely and friendly.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank Manda_conwayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Innocent Bystander also viewed

Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Innocent Bystander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.