We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasting experience ”
Review of Innocent Bystander

Innocent Bystander
Ranked #3 of 51 Restaurants in Healesville
Price range: AU$10 - AU$28
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Come and visit us at our home in Healesville (we call it IBHQ) for delicious wine, local produce, artisan pizza and tasty paella, or enjoy a non-wine option such as our real cider, local beers and spirits and great coffee. It’s an urban cellar door, restaurant, bar and your home away from home, so swing by relax and enjoy. We think our wines are best enjoyed with good company and great food, so we crafted our menu with sharing in mind. Created using fresh local Yarra Valley ingredients and inspired by classic dishes we love, our food matches our wines – delicious!
Reviewed 23 May 2023 via mobile

Caitlin was a fantastic host. Explained all the wine tastings so thoroughly. Even found a new a new fave Rose. Love the unusual fire place too.

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank TravelGrooveLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2023

We have had an amazing service at IB so much that when we visited Healesville for 4 nights, we spent 3 evenings dining at IB.

The staff are a real credit 👏 🙌 to IB , they all love working at IB and this really is reflected by their fabulous service.

We felt like part of the IB family, we always received a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble

Big shout out especially to Jayden, Jenna , Harry , it was really nice to get to know you over the past 3 evenings you all made each visit fun.

Keep up the outstanding work.

Next time we are in Healesville we'll definitely be visiting you 😉

Garry & Elaine

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2023

We were disappointed with two dishes. The first one was the size of the Broccolini and Almond dish, it had about one sprig of broccolini in it, chopped up, considering it cost $15 for this side it should had a lot more. In hindsight we should have said something when it was served up. One of us ordered the paella and was told it was a large dish and would be ok if you were really hungry, so two of us decided to share. In fact I wouldn't call that large at all.
It had only one large prawn which was not cooked and asked for a replacement. The replacement was very overcooked. Also had about 3 mussels a couple of slices of cooked pork belly and squid rings, also rice was quite bland.
Other dishes ordered were 3 pizzas, Cacciatori Diavola was the good, other two OK.
We enjoyed the beers and wine.
We spoke to a waitress about the 2 dishes when she was clearing the plates and she said that the broccolini was the normal size. She didn't serve it up so how did know what size it was. Just didn't want to hear if anything wasn't right even though she asked.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2023 via mobile

Lunch as part of tour. Ordered paella, French fires, mushroom and sausage pizzas. Sausage pizza was very spicy. Mushroom was ok and fries was thin cut but not crispy enough.

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank o2mpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2023

Return visit to one of our favourite wineries in the Yarra valley after 13 years. New purpose built premises are great as is their wine (as always) - so good we bought the T-shirt! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank RobnRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Innocent Bystander also viewed

Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Innocent Bystander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.