We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
AU$161
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Harriett H
Melbourne, Australia
Outstanding
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Apr 2023
We absolutely loved our stay at Sanctuary House Resort Motel. The games room was perfect for the kids, the fireplace in the reception area was so inviting and the bbq area was brilliant. We dined in the restaurant and the food was outstanding. The hosts were so warm and welcoming. Would definitely recommend this place for a relaxing break. We will definitely return.
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$225
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$232
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$225
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Hotel Bar
Tripadvisor
AU$166
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$360
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.9 km from Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Street view of Tuck Inn
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
2.9 km from Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$301
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front view of the B&B Apartments
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
5.2 km from Sanctuary House Resort Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
    6.0 km from Sanctuary House Resort Motel
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    6.7 km from Sanctuary House Resort Motel
    Free parking
    Spa
    View more hotels in Healesville
    Reviews (222)
    Filter reviews
    222 results
    Traveller rating
    93
    66
    35
    17
    11
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    93
    66
    35
    17
    11
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews onsite restaurant nice hot shower animal sanctuary games room an overnight stay definitely recommend this place excellent accommodation bbq area town centre spa bath sam hosts fridge toiletries mains venue fireplace
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    14 - 19 of 222 reviews
    Reviewed 4 March 2023 via mobile

    The service was outstanding. Warm and very friendly and welcoming.Taken back to the days of old. How it should be. Would come back in the future in a heartbeat. Hearty meals. The skin on fries with the relish sauce were amazing complemented the oven baked garlic bread. A personal note to the owners 'Keep doing what you do it was a blissful experience' in this overly busy modern world.

    Date of stay: March 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank robertsQ9639GO
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Helen Halim, General Manager at Sanctuary House Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2023

    Thank you so much for your review, and your personal note which really warmed our hearts. We look forward to seeing you again if you are ever up this way.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 January 2023

    From the name it has, one could be forgiven for the expectation of something greater than it actually presents itself as being. Its reviews, however, although perhaps a little higher than expected, possibly provide a more accurate picture.
    Despite arriving considerably earlier than the usual check-in time, I was welcomed with warmth.
    The room was quite basic and clearly made up from dividing a building that may have earlier provided accommodation for workers. It is abundantly clear that alterations have been made without any real effort to disguise them, which immediately detracts from any appeal a room may provide.
    Furnishings were very simple although the inclusion of a table from which to work at was very welcome. Sadly, the surfaces also had sticky patches, suggesting that cleaning was not considered optimal. The bed, however, was of sufficient size and comfortable.
    Despite a kettle being provided, no form of beverage was provided. This means that any form of refreshments a guest may desire needed to be self-supplied.
    The bathroom was small but adequate although the shower requires some adjustment to suit. What was welcome was the inclusion of a singular face cloth (adequate for one person). However, two towels were provided, leaving one wondering whether a single face cloth was always the norm even when a couple were staying, or two towels was an error.
    Located close to the town centre which is well worth exploring along with other sights in the area.
    Excellent Wi-Fi service.

    Room tip: The photos provided are of the on-site restaurant which was closed at the time staying.
    Date of stay: November 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank FyingKiwi
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 1 January 2023 via mobile

    We were a family group of seventeen who recently stayed two nights at the Sanctuary Resort motel in seven different rooms. Helen was super helpful and accommodating when we booked. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is plenty of space for a large family group and we enjoyed cricket and soccer on the massive field at the back as well as the pool and bbq area. We also had a lovely dinner in the restaurant one night. The location is great for visiting the Healesville Sanctuary and days trips to places like Warburton. Many thanks Sam and Helen.

    Date of stay: December 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Anne H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Helen Halim, General Manager at Sanctuary House Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2023

    Thank you for your great review. It was wonderful getting to know you all during your recent stay with us, and we hope to see you all again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 December 2022

    A warm welcome and spotlessly clean rooms. The property is located in a very quiet street amongst tall trees and bush. We had an excellent meal in the fabulous dining room on the evening of our arrival. Then a very reasonably priced breakfast in the morning. Our only disappointment was that our room was not “serviced” during our 3 night stay… but that’s so minor! The pool looked inviting and I would have swim if the weather had been a little warmer. We will happily stay there again with the welcome and the reasonable tariffs the cleanliness and the facilities making it easy to decide to stay.

    Date of stay: December 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Louise M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Helen Halim, General Manager at Sanctuary House Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2023

    Thank you for your review. We are glad that you took some good memories away with you. We look forward to the next time you come back, when hopefully you will be able to take a dip in the pool.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 November 2022

    From the moment you arrive at Sanctuary House Hotel, you will be greeted by people who really care. I was traveling alone and felt immediately welcome & comfortable here.
    My room was far more luxurious ( & larger) than I expected. I travel a lot, but was really surprised by what I found; the Spa bath, spotless bathroom, gorgeous sheets, toiletries, mini fridge and outdoor sitting area with a view.
    But the final surprise was the food! Wow! I already knew the restaurant had high reviews but I guess I wasn’t expecting this level of finesse, particularly given prices are so reasonable. I couldn’t help but notice that everyone in the restaurant was having a wonderful time. In my opinion, this is simply the best food in Healesville. I had the smoked chicken salad & it was a standout!
    Really sad to leave but big thanks to Sam & Helen, the warm hearted owners for such a wonderful stay.
    Book early and enjoy!

    Room tip: Check nights/ opening hours for the restaurant.
    Date of stay: November 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank lucyfI1456GY
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Helen Halim, General Manager at Sanctuary House Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2022

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are glad that you took some good memories away with you and look forward to welcoming you back to Sanctuary House if you are up this way again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews