We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience”

TarraWarra Estate Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Healesville
Price range: AU$100 - AU$130
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 September 2023 via mobile

Great venue and great staff who were very helpful. The wine tasting before lunch was disappointing, the wines were seriously overpriced for their quality, so we left empty handed. Don’t know why they expect us to pay such prices when you can get same or better quality at Dan Murphy’s for half the price. The 4 course fixed menu lunch was $130pp, overall it was very nice, good portion sizes. Offered a $70 up charge option for additions to theTrout consommé which was ridiculous. The lunch was very good and we would go back.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank Viber53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2023 via mobile

Friends of mine and I decided to spend a day in the Yarra Valley while visiting Melbourne and thought we’d go to a winery somewhere for a nice lunch. When we were in Healsville at a little café they mentioned Tarrawarra as a possibility, so we figured we’d head over and check it out. When we got to the winery, though, we noticed that the restaurant was at the top of a hill, while the parking was way down at the bottom. Having walked our feet to the bone over the previous few days, none of us was excited by the prospect of having to trudge up the hill and we nearly gave the place a miss (especially since we weren’t sure we’d get a table, and the idea of putting a few extra hundred metres on our tired tootsies only to be turned away was really off-putting), but it turned out they had a shuttle bus operating so we hopped in and off we went to try to get in.

Happily for us, a table was available, so we sat ourselves down and settled in for a fixed-menu repast that was simply extraordinary. The fixed menu started off with a trout consommé that one of our party could not have, owing to an allergy, so the kitchen switched it for the corresponding course from the vegetarian menu. When these dishes were served, we experienced something we never experienced before—jealousy that we had not ordered the vegetarian menu. Not that there was anything wrong with the trout—it looked and tasted great—but the vegetarian dish, a concoction of beetroot purée with toasted walnuts, balsamic pearls, citrus fruit and ribbon-cut poached beetroot, was so beautiful and delicious that it ended up being the standout dish of the afternoon. All the other dishes were extremely good, and all presented beautifully and at a relaxed pace, making for a stupendous afternoon.

Having said all that about the food, it’s worth noting that the wines did not do much for any of us. We opted for a sampling of three wines to start off with, figuring that that would give us a sense of what we might want to have with the rest of our meal, but none of us particularly cared for the wines we sampled, so we ended up holding off on more wine here, opting instead to save up on the alcohol so we could do some winery tastings on the way home without getting too inebriated.

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank JamesGOamaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TarraWarra Estate, Marketing at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2023

Hi James,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our estate. We are so glad you enjoyed your lunch. The beetroot rose entree truly is a work of art. Our new EMBC building is set to open mid 2024, and we hope to have you return to enjoy the new space and updated menu.

Kind Regards

The team at TarraWarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2023 via mobile

We visited Tarrawarra for a wine tasting and lunch in the restaurant. The wine is beautiful, the food was delicious and thank you to Grace for the wonderful service. Make sure you book for the wine tasting to avoid disappointment, they are a small winery with a small team, so if they are busy you may be turned away. Visit the museum of art for a special treat

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TarraWarra Estate, Marketing at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2023

Hi David,

Thank you for your kind words. Grace was delighted that she was able to help make your lunch special. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

The team at TarraWarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2023 via mobile

The ambiance is perfect, the food portion was just nice plus the wines! A perfect lunch for a cooling weather with friends❤️

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank Owen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TarraWarra Estate, Marketing at TarraWarra Estate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2023

Hi Owen,

Thank you for the amazing feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

The team at TarraWarra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2023 via mobile

What a wonderful place for a meal. We had the most delicious lunch there on Sunday, and excellent service (thanks Grace). The food was a culinary delight (thanks Jess and Joel). I would highly recommend TarraWarra Estate.

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank 224tonyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed TarraWarra Estate Restaurant also viewed

Healesville, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to TarraWarra Estate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.